Gardner-Webb University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritBoiling Springs, NC

Gardner-Webb University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.5 GPA. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Gardner-Webb words the award as what an eligible freshman "may receive" rather than will receive, so the 3.5 is a published threshold rather than a guarantee. Below it there is no ladder at all — other merit awards are stated only as a $7,000 to $24,000 annual range with no criteria. The GPA is weighted, and no renewal condition is published.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Merit Scholarship

A merit scholarship equal to half of tuition

Gardner-Webb awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Gardner-Webb merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Gardner-Webb University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-time freshman merit scholarship

Awarded at admission on the weighted high school GPA, with no separate application.

  • A merit scholarship equal to half of tuition

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24

Does Gardner-Webb superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and the published criterion reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Gardner-Webb’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Gardner-Webb scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admission decisionAbout three weeks after a complete file — no deadline published

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Gardner-Webb University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A weighted 3.5 reaches half of tuition, which tracks Gardner-Webb's cost rather than a frozen figure.
  • The wording is "may receive", not "will receive".
  • The GPA is weighted, so honours and AP coursework can carry a student over the 3.5.
  • Below a 3.5 there is no published ladder — only a $7,000 to $24,000 range with no criteria.
  • No published criterion reads an ACT score.
  • Gardner-Webb publishes no renewal condition for this award.
  • The Ignite Excellence award, full tuition for about eight students, requires an application, full-time enrolment and living on campus, so it is not a band here.
  • Third-party sites publish named Gardner-Webb tiers; they describe themselves as estimates and are not used here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Gardner-Webb University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Gardner-Webb?

Gardner-Webb University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Gardner-Webb test-optional?

Gardner-Webb asks for a score when a student has one, while requiring none. For merit aid the answer is different: the stated basis is the weighted high school GPA. No score appears in any published criterion. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Gardner-Webb superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and the published criterion reads no score.

When are Gardner-Webb scholarship deadlines?

Admission decision: About three weeks after a complete file — no deadline published. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Gardner-Webb scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Gardner-Webb University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Gardner-Webb awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Gardner-Webb is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Gardner-Webb University