University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff: merit scholarships by ACT score
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $16,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
UAPB's page carries a scholarship deadline of MARCH 1, 2025 — two cycles old — so every figure here needs confirming with the office before it is relied on. Both criteria are required on each band. The cliff is extreme: the University and Dean's awards share a 3.5 GPA floor and differ only by score, so moving from a 22 to a 23 is worth $28,000 over four years. UAPB publishes four-year totals and per-semester figures but never an annual number, so the annual figures here are its totals divided by the four years it states. The Chancellor's award additionally requires admission by January 1st.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
No automatic award at this combination
A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UAPB merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Institutional scholarships, four years / eight semesters
Each award states a minimum GPA and an ACT range, both required. UAPB strongly encourages the FAFSA alongside the application.
$16,500 ($66,000 over four years, $8,250 per semester)
Chancellor's Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · Minimum 3.75 GPA, and admitted by January 1st
$12,000 ($48,000 over four years, $6,000 per semester)
University Scholarship
ACT 23–27 · Minimum 3.5 GPA
$5,000 ($20,000 over four years, $2,500 per semester)
Dean's Scholarship
ACT 21–22 · Minimum 3.5 GPA
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Chancellor's Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · Minimum 3.75 GPA, and admitted by January 1st | $16,500 ($66,000 over four years, $8,250 per semester) |
| University Scholarship | ACT 23–27 · Minimum 3.5 GPA | $12,000 ($48,000 over four years, $6,000 per semester) |
| Dean's Scholarship | ACT 21–22 · Minimum 3.5 GPA | $5,000 ($20,000 over four years, $2,500 per semester) |
Source: Institutional Scholarship Opportunities · verified 2026-10-21
Does UAPB superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Given one point is worth $28,000 at the 22/23 boundary, this is the first question to put to the office.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UAPB’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
UAPB scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Scholarship deadline as printed on the page (two cycles old — confirm) | March 1, 2025 |
| Chancellor's Scholarship — must be admitted by | January 1st |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- One ACT point, 22 to 23, is worth $28,000 over four years — the largest single-point step in this dataset.
- The University and Dean's awards share a 3.5 GPA floor, so the score alone separates them.
- The page's published deadline is March 1, 2025, which is two cycles stale. Treat every figure as needing confirmation.
- UAPB publishes four-year totals and per-semester amounts but no annual figure.
- The Chancellor's Scholarship requires admission by January 1st, earlier than the stated scholarship deadline.
- A separate endowed award for freshmen is one year and non-renewable, needs an 18 ACT and a 2.75 GPA, a 500-word essay and 24 volunteer hours a semester.
- UAPB is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UAPB?
Automatic merit aid at University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $16,500 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is UAPB test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. The merit position is clear: every institutional band pairs a GPA floor with an ACT range. For merit aid the answer is different: required. All three awards publish an ACT range alongside the GPA, and UAPB offers no test-optional route to them. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is one more ACT point worth at UAPB?
The most valuable single point on UAPB's published grid is 22 to 23, at a 3.5 GPA: it moves the award by $7,000 a year, or $28,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does UAPB superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Given one point is worth $28,000 at the 22/23 boundary, this is the first question to put to the office.
When are UAPB scholarship deadlines?
Scholarship deadline as printed on the page (two cycles old — confirm): March 1, 2025. Chancellor's Scholarship — must be admitted by: January 1st. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this UAPB scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at UAPB. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff