Pittsburg State University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Pittsburg State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Pitt State takes the HIGHER of your GPA and your ACT, not both — so either number alone can earn the award, and a strong score rescues a weaker transcript. Three things to know: the award is locked at application and never rises if your college GPA improves, it applies to tuition and fees ONLY and cannot go toward housing, and it is computed on your WEIGHTED GPA. The grid page is also undated; its newest reference is fall 2025.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
$4,000 per year/$16,000 for four years / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Pitt State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Pittsburg State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Great Gorilla Scholarship — one grid for everyone
No residency split is published. Each level is reachable two ways, and Pitt State applies whichever is better. The programme absorbed the old Crawford County, valedictorian and first-generation awards, which no longer exist separately.
$4,000 per year/$16,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
ACT 28–36 · ACT 28+ — the score alone qualifies
Without a score: not available
$4,000 per year/$16,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.95
$3,000 per year/$12,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
ACT 26–27 · ACT 26-27 — the score alone qualifies
Without a score: not available
$3,000 per year/$12,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.85
$2,000 per year/$8,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
ACT 24–25 · ACT 24-25 — the score alone qualifies
Without a score: not available
$2,000 per year/$8,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.70
$1,500 per year/$6,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
ACT 22–23 · ACT 22-23 — the score alone qualifies
Without a score: not available
$1,500 per year/$6,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.25
$1,000 per year/$4,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route)
ACT 20–21 · ACT 20-21 — the score alone qualifies
Without a score: not available
$1,000 per year/$4,000 for four years
Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 2.85
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) | ACT 28–36 · ACT 28+ — the score alone qualifies | not available | $4,000 per year/$16,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.95 | $4,000 per year/$16,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) | ACT 26–27 · ACT 26-27 — the score alone qualifies | not available | $3,000 per year/$12,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.85 | $3,000 per year/$12,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) | ACT 24–25 · ACT 24-25 — the score alone qualifies | not available | $2,000 per year/$8,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.70 | $2,000 per year/$8,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) | ACT 22–23 · ACT 22-23 — the score alone qualifies | not available | $1,500 per year/$6,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.25 | $1,500 per year/$6,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) | ACT 20–21 · ACT 20-21 — the score alone qualifies | not available | $1,000 per year/$4,000 for four years |
| Great Gorilla Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 2.85 | $1,000 per year/$4,000 for four years |
Source: Great Gorilla Scholarships · verified 2026-10-21
Does Pitt State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated for merit. Pitt State accepts a superscore for ADMISSION in writing, but its scholarship page never mentions the word, so no merit position is recorded.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Pitt State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Pitt State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| No eligibility deadline on the grid itself — awards are made at enrolment | Up to the last day to enrol |
| But two other Pitt State pages sweep this award into a deadline — February 1 and November 1 for priority | February 1 / November 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Pittsburg State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Great Gorilla Scholarshipsverified 2026-10-21
- Scholarships and Financial Assistanceverified 2026-10-21
- Undergraduate admission requirementsverified 2026-10-21
- Pitt State answers the upgrade question directly and the answer is no: a GPA that rises at Pitt State does not increase the award.
- The award is computed on the WEIGHTED GPA where a school provides one — unusually generous, and the opposite of Emporia State, which uses unweighted.
- Tuition and fees only. Pitt State says plainly that it cannot be applied to housing, though its aid office will stack other unrestricted awards against housing costs.
- The grid page says there is no eligibility deadline, while the financial-assistance page lists a February 1 due date and the admission page a November 1 priority date. All three are published; the grid page is the one that governs this award.
- A 2.0 renewal GPA is the loosest in this dataset — Emporia State, the other Kansas regional here, requires a 3.0 plus 24 earned hours a year.
- The Alumni Legacy License Plate Scholarship is also ACT-keyed at a 21 but publishes no amount, so it is not modelled.
- No National Merit award and no regional tuition programme appear on these pages.
- Pitt State is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Pittsburg State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Pitt State?
Automatic merit aid at Pittsburg State University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $4,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Pitt State test-optional?
One of two routes in: an ACT composite or superscore of at least 21, or a 2.25 cumulative GPA. A score is a path rather than a requirement. For merit aid the answer is different: considered and never penalising: Pitt State uses whichever of the GPA and the ACT produces the larger award, so submitting a score can only help. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Pitt State?
On Pitt State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Great Gorilla Scholarship (score route) at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Pitt State?
The most valuable single point on Pitt State's published grid is 25 to 26, at a GPA of act 26-27 — the score alone qualifies: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Pitt State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated for merit. Pitt State accepts a superscore for ADMISSION in writing, but its scholarship page never mentions the word, so no merit position is recorded.
When are Pitt State scholarship deadlines?
No eligibility deadline on the grid itself — awards are made at enrolment: Up to the last day to enrol. But two other Pitt State pages sweep this award into a deadline — February 1 and November 1 for priority: February 1 / November 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Pitt State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Pittsburg State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Pitt State. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Pittsburg State University