Dakota State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2026 and later entryMadison, SD

Dakota State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The 3.0 GPA is a floor rather than an axis — nothing above it pays more, so a 4.0 and a 3.0 with the same ACT receive the same award. All of the money moves on the test score.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Champion Scholarship

$3,000 / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

3 more points (a 32) moves you to Champion Scholarship — $4,000 a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether 3 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Dakota State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Dakota State University’s own pages for Fall 2026 and later entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Champion Series

Awarded automatically on admission with no scholarship application. Every rung needs a 3.0 GPA alongside the score.

  • $4,000

    Champion Scholarship

    ACT 32–36 · 3.00+

  • $3,000

    Champion Scholarship

    ACT 28–31 · 3.00+

  • $2,000

    Champion Scholarship

    ACT 24–27 · 3.00+

  • $1,000

    Champion Scholarship

    ACT 21–23 · 3.00+

Source: Scholarships — Champion Series · verified 2026-10-24

Does Dakota State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. DSU's scholarship page does not use the word, which matters more here than at most schools — the whole grid moves on the score, so whether a retake can be combined with an earlier sitting is worth asking in writing.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Dakota State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Dakota State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The GPA is a flat 3.0 gate. Above it, a higher GPA is worth nothing — only the ACT moves the award.
  • DSU states outright that no scholarship application is needed and that awards are made automatically on admission.
  • DSU Rising adds a further $2,000 a year for students with a 30+ ACT in a Beacom College computing major. It stacks and is restricted to one college, so it is not a band on this grid.
  • Nothing is paid below an ACT 21 or below a 3.0 GPA.
  • Renewal is stricter than most — 30 DSU credits an academic year, not the 24 or the twelve-a-semester that is common.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Dakota State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Dakota State?

Automatic merit aid at Dakota State University starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $4,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Dakota State test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every rung of the Champion Series names an ACT or SAT range, and DSU publishes no GPA-only alternative. A student with no score reaches nothing on this grid however high their GPA. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Dakota State?

On Dakota State's published grid for Fall 2026 and later entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Champion Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Dakota State?

The most valuable single point on Dakota State's published grid is 23 to 24, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Dakota State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. DSU's scholarship page does not use the word, which matters more here than at most schools — the whole grid moves on the score, so whether a retake can be combined with an earlier sitting is worth asking in writing.

Is this Dakota State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Dakota State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Dakota State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Dakota State University