Dickinson State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2024 entry · prior cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedDickinson, ND

Dickinson State University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $2,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Dickinson State publishes the criteria and the amounts but never says the awards are automatic or that no application is needed, so meeting a threshold makes a student eligible rather than entitled. The figures are published for Fall 2024 and no newer year is posted.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Elite Scholarship (score route)

$1,500 / year

About $6,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

1 more point (a 30) moves you to Premier Scholarship (score route) — $2,000 a year. That is $500 more a year, or $2,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Dickinson State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Dickinson State University’s own pages for Fall 2024 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic scholarships

Each award can be reached on a GPA alone or on a test score alone — Dickinson states the criteria may be achieved on any of the score options or GPA levels.

  • $2,000

    Premier Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Premier Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 30–36 · No GPA level stated for the score route

  • $1,500

    Elite Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,500

    Elite Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 26–36 · No GPA level stated for the score route

  • $500

    Select Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $500

    Select Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 22–36 · No GPA level stated for the score route

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does Dickinson State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Dickinson State's scholarship page does not use the word, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing whether a superscore counts toward the score route.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Dickinson State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Dickinson State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Any single criterion qualifies. A 30 ACT reaches the Premier award with no GPA level stated, and a 3.8 GPA reaches it with no test at all.
  • Dickinson State never says the awards are automatic. The only use of 'automatically' on the page concerns Phi Theta Kappa transfer students, which is a separate programme.
  • The amounts are published for Fall 2024 and no newer year has been posted.
  • Renewal needs a 3.0 GPA and 24 credits a year, which is stricter than the award thresholds themselves — a student can qualify at a 3.0 and then need the same GPA in college to keep it.
  • The table also lists IELTS, TOEFL and Duolingo thresholds for the same awards, which are not represented in this grid.
  • Nothing is paid below a 3.00 GPA or an ACT 22.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Dickinson State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Dickinson State?

Automatic merit aid at Dickinson State University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $2,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Dickinson State test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one route to each award and a GPA is another. A student can reach the top award on a 3.8 GPA with no test, or on a 30 ACT with no GPA level stated — whichever they have. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Dickinson State?

On Dickinson State's published grid for Fall 2024 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Premier Scholarship (score route) at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Dickinson State?

The most valuable single point on Dickinson State's published grid is 25 to 26, on the row where it is largest: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Dickinson State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Dickinson State's scholarship page does not use the word, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing whether a superscore counts toward the score route.

Is this Dickinson State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Dickinson State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Dickinson State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Dickinson State University