University of Pikeville: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritPikeville, KY

University of Pikeville awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used. Pikeville requires official high school and college transcripts on file before a scholarship is determined, so a late transcript delays the award rather than merely the decision. Transfer students are assessed on a calculated GPA from transfer credits. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Provost Leadership Award

$6,750 / year

About $27,000 over four years, if it renews.

Pikeville awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Pikeville merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Pikeville’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Institutional scholarships

Awarded on the GPA once official transcripts are on file.

  • $8,000

    Trustee Excellence Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $6,750

    Provost Leadership Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $5,000

    Dean Service Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $3,750

    Appalachian Academic Achievement

    No score needed · GPA 2.75

  • $3,000

    Mountain Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Scholarships — institutional scholarships by GPA · verified 2026-10-22

Does Pikeville superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Pikeville’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Pikeville’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Official transcripts must be on file before any scholarship is determined.
  • The ladder reaches down to a 2.74 and below, so every admitted student is published a figure.
  • The biggest step is $1,750 between the Provost and Dean awards.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Pikeville is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Pikeville.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Pikeville?

University of Pikeville publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Pikeville test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Pikeville?

On Pikeville's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Provost Leadership Award at $6,750 a year, about $27,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Pikeville superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Pikeville scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Pikeville's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Pikeville awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Pikeville is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Pikeville