Carson-Newman University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 21, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritJefferson City, TN

Carson-Newman University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $16,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used; Carson-Newman keys these four awards to the GPA alone. The bands are half a point wide, so most GPA improvement buys nothing and crossing 2.5, 3.0 or 3.5 is worth $2,000 a year each time. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Scholarship

$16,000 / year

About $64,000 over four years, if it renews.

Carson-Newman awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Carson-Newman merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Carson-Newman University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic scholarships

Carson-Newman publishes a single eligibility GPA for each award, with no separate application.

  • $16,000

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $14,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $12,000

    Faculty Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 2.50

  • $10,000

    Achievement Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Scholarships — academic scholarships per academic year · verified 2026-10-21

Does Carson-Newman superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Carson-Newman’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Carson-Newman University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Four bands, each half a GPA point wide, so the money moves only at 2.5, 3.0 and 3.5.
  • Each boundary is worth $2,000 a year, or $8,000 over four.
  • Everyone admitted is published a figure; the Achievement Scholarship pays $10,000 below a 2.5.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Carson-Newman is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Carson-Newman University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Carson-Newman?

Carson-Newman University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Carson-Newman test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Carson-Newman?

On Carson-Newman's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Scholarship at $16,000 a year, about $64,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Carson-Newman superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Carson-Newman scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Carson-Newman University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Carson-Newman awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Carson-Newman is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Carson-Newman University