Freed-Hardeman University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Freed-Hardeman University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 30 and reach $18,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
FHU publishes exactly one merit figure against thresholds, and it is the top of the ladder: $18,000 a year for an ACT composite of 30 and a 3.80 high school GPA, both required. Everything below that is a range rather than a band — "Merit scholarships range from $4,000 to $12,000 per year" for anyone with at least a 19 ACT and a 3.00 GPA — so a student in that span cannot be told what they will get, and no row is invented for them. Two of FHU's own conditions matter as much as the number: "Awarding is subject to the availability of funds" is attached to every award on the page, and a Trustees' recipient "must be full-time and live in university housing or a lesser award will be given", with the lesser figure not published. Total unfunded institutional aid is also capped at $15,000 a year, which the $18,000 Trustees' award is itself above — ask FHU how the cap applies to it.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
No automatic award at this combination
A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Freed-Hardeman merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Freed-Hardeman University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-time freshmen and transfers
No separate scholarship application exists: the required forms are the application for admission, a three-year transcript and an ACT or SAT score sent to the Office of Admissions, and FHU says applicants meeting the thresholds "will be automatically considered for this award". Awarding still depends on funds, and early filing is rewarded — "preference will be given to those that submit their required forms early. Early awarding begins in August or September of the senior year of high school." The Honors Scholarship is the one award that stacks on top of this one, but it is won in a competition and publishes no amount, so it sits in the notes rather than the grid. Nothing here combines with an athletic scholarship.
$18,000
Trustees' Scholarship
ACT 30–36 · 3.80 high school GPA AND an ACT composite of 30 or higher — both required. The SAT alternative is 1360 (Reading/Writing and Math only); only the ACT route is modelled here.
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Trustees' Scholarship | ACT 30–36 · 3.80 high school GPA AND an ACT composite of 30 or higher — both required. The SAT alternative is 1360 (Reading/Writing and Math only); only the ACT route is modelled here. | $18,000 |
Source: Grants, Scholarships & Discounts — merit, Trustees', FHU Promise, discounts and the church match · verified 2026-10-23
Does Freed-Hardeman superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on FHU's scholarship page, its PDF, its how-to-apply page or its financial-aid pages. The nearest thing to an answer points the other way: the transfer paragraph awards merit on "a student's cumulative high school GPA and highest ACT/SAT composite score", which reads as the best single sitting rather than a composite assembled across dates. FHU does require a national test date — "National ACT or SAT test score (No residual score)" — so a residual exam taken on campus will not count at all.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Freed-Hardeman’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Freed-Hardeman scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Application, three-year transcript and ACT/SAT scores in to Admissions | June – November of senior year |
| Merit scholarships begin to be awarded (early awarding, funds permitting) | August or September of the senior year of high school |
| FAFSA | As soon after October 1 as possible |
| Discount applications and acceptance of FHU discounts / FHU Promise — first-time freshmen | May 15 |
| Discount applications and acceptance of FHU discounts / FHU Promise — transfers | June 15 |
| Be admitted, for FHU Promise consideration (as the 2026 PDF states it — the web page says May 15) | April 15 for first time freshmen and June 15 for transfers |
| Competitive departmental awards in Law & Politics and History — essay submissions for 2026-27 | April 14, 2026 |
| Four-year high school transcript sent (the initial award is set off a three-year transcript) | April – June |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Freed-Hardeman University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Grants, Scholarships & Discounts — merit, Trustees', FHU Promise, discounts and the church matchverified 2026-10-23
- Scholarships and Discounts (2026 PDF) — the same Trustees' figure and thresholdsverified 2026-10-23
- How to Apply — admission minimums, test-optional admittance and score codesverified 2026-10-23
- FHU Promise — the last-dollar guarantee and its ACT, GPA and Pell conditionsverified 2026-10-23
- Financial Aid — the month-by-month timeline for a senior yearverified 2026-10-23
- Tuition & Fees — the 2026-27 comprehensive chargeverified 2026-10-23
- The Tennessee HOPE Scholarship and Tennessee Promise are STATE money, not FHU's, and HOPE is the single most-confused line on this page because FHU prints its dollar figures right beside its own awards: "$4500 a year for freshman and sophomores and $5700 a year for juniors and seniors at 4-year institutions". HOPE is ACT-keyed — "an entering freshman with at least a 21 ACT (1060 SAT; Critical Reading and Math only) taken on a national or state test date OR have an overall weighted 3.0 grade point average" — which is exactly why families read it as institutional merit. It is administered by the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation, requires a year's Tennessee residency by September 1 and graduation from an eligible Tennessee high school, and travels to any eligible Tennessee college. Tennessee Promise is the state's separate last-dollar community-college program. Neither is in the grid above.
- There is a hard cap above the grid: "scholarships and discounts are subject to an institutional cap of $15,000 per year on total unfunded institutional aid per student." The $18,000 Trustees' award is published above that cap and the page does not explain the interaction, so confirm the net figure in writing before counting on it.
- The $4,000-$12,000 merit range is the band this dataset cannot represent, and it is where most applicants land: "All applicants with a minimum national ACT composite score of 19 (990 SAT: Reading/Writing and Math) and at least a 3.00 high school GPA are automatically considered for this scholarship." Automatic consideration, a real floor, and no published figure between the floor and the ceiling.
- The scholarship clock starts on a three-year transcript. FHU says "Initial academic scholarships will be based on a three-year transcript, but a completed four-year transcript must be submitted at the conclusion of your senior year" — so a senior-year grade improvement is not what sets the initial award, and a senior-year slide can be seen later.
- A score must come from a national test date: "National ACT or SAT test score (No residual score)". A residual ACT taken on a campus does not count toward either the merit range or the Trustees' threshold, and Tennessee HOPE carries the same restriction in different words ("taken on a national or state test date").
- National Merit Finalists get there without the 30: "National Merit Finalists will receive the Trustees' Scholarship", and the same housing and 3.4 GPA conditions then apply.
- The Honors Scholarship is the only award that stacks on top of the Trustees' — "stackable on top of the Trustees' Scholarship up to the total cost of FHU's Comprehensive charge ($27,050 for the 2026-2027 school year)" — but it is won in a competition held each Fall, requires already qualifying for the Trustees' (3.80 GPA and a 30 ACT), publishes no dollar amount, and demands a 3.5 cumulative GPA and active participation in the Freshman Honors program. It is not in the grid because no figure exists to put there.
- Church and denominational money is real and additive, with its own ceiling: the FHU Church Scholarship Match Program "will match any scholarship awarded by a church to a first-time student ... up to a total of $2,500 a year", and it is the one award allowed to stack above the $15,000 institutional cap, up to the comprehensive charge. It renews only while the church keeps paying, and requires 12 hours a semester plus a 2.75 GPA in year one and 3.0 thereafter. A separate Children of Minister's Discount of up to $5,000 requires a Church of Christ pulpit or youth minister parent employed full-time for at least five years, a form signed by two elders, and on-campus residence with a meal plan.
- Endowed and nursing scholarships do not add to merit money — "Endowed Scholarships' purpose is to support merit awards and do not stack on top of merit awards" — so an endowed award a student is matched to may simply substitute for part of what they already had. All students are considered automatically, but the FAFSA must be filed.
- The FHU Promise is a guarantee, not an amount, which is why it is not a band: it "guarantees that qualified, first-time freshman and transfer students will not have to pay or owe more than $9,500 their freshman year after all other scholarships, discounts, and grants have been applied", at a 21 ACT, a 3.0 GPA and a Pell award. The dedicated Promise page states the same guarantee differently again, as "at most $6,250 per semester for tuition, food and housing" and "up to 90% of the comprehensive charge", so three framings of one promise are in circulation.
- The FHU Promise deadline conflicts across FHU's own pages. The 2026 PDF says the student must "be admitted before April 15 for first time freshmen and June 15 for transfers"; the scholarship page says "be admitted before May 15"; and the financial-aid timeline files the May 15 discount deadline under a heading labelled July. Treat April 15 as the safe date and confirm.
- Several awards are mutually exclusive with athletics rather than merely capped: the merit range, the Trustees', the FHU Promise, the discounts and the departmental awards each say they cannot be combined with an athletic scholarship. An athlete therefore has to choose, not add.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Freed-Hardeman University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Freed-Hardeman?
Automatic merit aid at Freed-Hardeman University starts at an ACT composite of 30, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $18,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Freed-Hardeman test-optional?
Optional for admission, and FHU offers the route explicitly — "Students seeking test-optional admittance may indicate that on their application". A score still matters at the margin: "The minimum ACT score for unconditional admission is a 19", and an applicant below the minimums or below a 2.25 GPA has their materials "reviewed by the Academic Review Committee". FHU also accepts the CLT. For merit aid the answer is different: optional in principle, decisive in practice. Every merit figure FHU publishes is keyed to an ACT minimum — 19 for the $4,000-$12,000 merit range, 30 for the $18,000 Trustees', 21 for the FHU Promise — so a student with no score cannot read any amount off the page. A test-optional merit award does exist, but only as a passing mention in a stacking rule: "Lads to Leaders scholarships are not stackable with Trustees', Test-Optional Merit, or Athletic scholarships." FHU publishes no GPA threshold and no amount for it, so no testOptionalGpa is recorded on the band. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does Freed-Hardeman superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on FHU's scholarship page, its PDF, its how-to-apply page or its financial-aid pages. The nearest thing to an answer points the other way: the transfer paragraph awards merit on "a student's cumulative high school GPA and highest ACT/SAT composite score", which reads as the best single sitting rather than a composite assembled across dates. FHU does require a national test date — "National ACT or SAT test score (No residual score)" — so a residual exam taken on campus will not count at all.
When are Freed-Hardeman scholarship deadlines?
Application, three-year transcript and ACT/SAT scores in to Admissions: June – November of senior year. Merit scholarships begin to be awarded (early awarding, funds permitting): August or September of the senior year of high school. FAFSA: As soon after October 1 as possible. Discount applications and acceptance of FHU discounts / FHU Promise — first-time freshmen: May 15. Discount applications and acceptance of FHU discounts / FHU Promise — transfers: June 15. Be admitted, for FHU Promise consideration (as the 2026 PDF states it — the web page says May 15): April 15 for first time freshmen and June 15 for transfers. Competitive departmental awards in Law & Politics and History — essay submissions for 2026-27: April 14, 2026. Four-year high school transcript sent (the initial award is set off a three-year transcript): April – June. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Freed-Hardeman scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Freed-Hardeman University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Freed-Hardeman. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Freed-Hardeman University