Grand Valley State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 23, 2026Fall 2027 entryAllendale, MI

Grand Valley State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 32 and reach $11,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The ACT moves money at Grand Valley in exactly one place: the Presidential Scholarship, which needs a 32 composite alongside a 3.8 GPA. Every other award on this grid is decided on GPA alone, so a 31 and a 17 are worth the same at any GPA. Non-Michigan residents receive the same base figure PLUS the difference between resident and non-resident tuition, which GVSU prices only as a four-year approximation — the annual figures below are the resident amounts.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Award for Excellence Scholarship

$5,000 / year

About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Grand Valley State’s complete the application for admission, for gv meridian consideration is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Grand Valley State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Grand Valley State University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Incoming freshman merit scholarships

No separate application: "Students with a completed admissions application are considered during their application review." The figures are the Michigan-resident amounts. A non-Michigan resident receives the same amount plus the difference between full-time resident and non-resident tuition, for one scholarship per year and for the fall and winter semesters only. Presidential, Faculty, Award for Excellence and Laker cannot be combined with each other.

  • $11,000

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 32–36 · 3.8+ GPA or higher — both required

    Without a score: not available

  • $6,000

    Faculty Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $5,000

    Award for Excellence Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $1,000

    Laker Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

Competitive awards — not automatic

Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

  • GV Meridian Scholarship — : Full undergraduate tuition and all mandatory fees, on-campus housing and dining, plus a one-time $6,000 study abroad scholarship

Source: Incoming Freshman Merit Scholarships 2027-2028 · verified 2026-10-23

Does Grand Valley State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on GVSU's freshman merit page or its undergraduate application page, and GVSU publishes no rule on combining sittings. Because the one score-keyed award turns on a composite of 32, whether that composite may be assembled across test dates is the single question worth asking Admissions directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Grand Valley State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Grand Valley State scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Complete the application for admission, for GV Meridian considerationDecember 1
Resubmit updated transcripts and test scores for scholarship reconsiderationFriday, August 27, 2027
Laker Lane Scholarship — orientation sign-up, housing application and FAFSAMarch 1, 2027
Latest a score can be submitted for additional scholarship considerationThe Friday prior to the start of the Fall term

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Grand Valley State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • One ACT threshold, and it is the whole story: a 32 with a 3.8 GPA is worth $11,000 a year, while a 31 with the same GPA drops to the $6,000 Faculty Scholarship. Below a 3.8 the score is worth nothing at all here.
  • Non-Michigan residents receive the same base award plus the resident/non-resident tuition differential. GVSU puts the Presidential's four-year value at $44,000 for a resident against "approximately $72,000" for a non-resident — but only one differential-paying scholarship is honoured per year, and only for fall and winter.
  • National Merit Finalists receive an additional $2,000 on top of the Presidential and Faculty scholarships.
  • Presidential, Faculty, Award for Excellence and Laker are mutually exclusive, so the grid pays one award, not a stack of them.
  • The score-timing window is unusually generous: transcripts and scores can be resubmitted for reconsideration through Friday, August 27, 2027, and GVSU accepts scores "until the Friday prior to the start of the Fall term". A summer retake can still raise the award after admission.
  • GV Meridian is a shortlist, not a threshold — up to 20 are awarded, it requires attending a January selection experience, and it takes no ACT or SAT score into account. A 3.75 GPA earns consideration only.
  • Urban Schools ($3,000), Early Awareness ($3,000, dropping to $1,000 below a 3.0 GPA), GV Charter Schools Alumni ($1,000, or $2,000 from eleven named schools), Laker Lane ($1,000) and Wade McCree ($3,000) are real GVSU money but are not in the grid: each turns on the high school attended or a named pre-college programme rather than on a GPA or score anyone can look up.
  • Three disqualifiers worth checking first: GVSU must be the first institution attended after high school, AP, IB, CLEP and DANTES credits are not accepted for scholarship review, and international students do not qualify for any award above.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Grand Valley State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Grand Valley State?

Automatic merit aid at Grand Valley State University starts at an ACT composite of 32, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $11,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Grand Valley State test-optional?

Optional for admission, and GVSU says in the same breath that it is not optional for the top of the scholarship grid. First-year applicants are reviewed on courses completed, GPA, grade trend and scores where submitted. For merit aid the answer is different: every applicant is considered for merit with or without a score, but the Presidential Scholarship — the only award on the grid that pays more than $6,000 — cannot be reached without a 32 composite. Scores may be added after admission for reconsideration, unusually late into the summer. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Grand Valley State?

On Grand Valley State's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Award for Excellence Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Grand Valley State?

The most valuable single point on Grand Valley State's published grid is 31 to 32, at a 3.8 GPA: it moves the award by $5,000 a year, or $20,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Grand Valley State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on GVSU's freshman merit page or its undergraduate application page, and GVSU publishes no rule on combining sittings. Because the one score-keyed award turns on a composite of 32, whether that composite may be assembled across test dates is the single question worth asking Admissions directly.

When are Grand Valley State scholarship deadlines?

Complete the application for admission, for GV Meridian consideration: December 1. Resubmit updated transcripts and test scores for scholarship reconsideration: Friday, August 27, 2027. Laker Lane Scholarship — orientation sign-up, housing application and FAFSA: March 1, 2027. Latest a score can be submitted for additional scholarship consideration: The Friday prior to the start of the Fall term. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Grand Valley State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Grand Valley State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Grand Valley State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Grand Valley State University