The University of Texas Permian Basin: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritOdessa, TX

The University of Texas Permian Basin awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.25 GPA and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The award has to be secured by registering for New Student Orientation by June 1, so it can be lost to a date rather than a grade. The GPA is unweighted, full-time enrolment is required, and the award window runs September 1 to April 15. A 2021 UT Permian Basin blog post saying a score can raise the award no longer matches the page and is not carried here. A third-party site prints the bottom rung as 3.0 to 3.34; the official 3.25 is used.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Falcon Achievement Scholarship

$2,000 a year / year

About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.

UTPB awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UTPB merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from The University of Texas Permian Basin’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Falcon merit scholarships

No scholarship application required. Read on an unweighted 4.0 scale, and renewable for up to four years at a 2.50.

  • $4,000 a year

    Falcon Elite Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • $3,000 a year

    Falcon Excellence Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.70

  • $2,000 a year

    Falcon Achievement Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.35

  • $1,000 a year

    Falcon Recognition Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

Source: Merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does UTPB superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and the grid reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UTPB’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

UTPB scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Merit award windowSeptember 1 to April 15
Register for New Student Orientation to secure the awardJune 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from The University of Texas Permian Basin’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The award must be secured by registering for orientation by June 1, so it can be lost to a date rather than a grade.
  • The ladder runs $1,000 at a 3.25 to $4,000 at a 3.90.
  • The 3.89-to-3.90 step is worth $1,000 a year on an unweighted transcript.
  • The floor is a 3.25, higher than most regional publics in this dataset.
  • The GPA is unweighted, so honours coursework buys nothing.
  • No rung reads an ACT score.
  • The renewal bar is a 2.50, well below every entry rung.
  • The Presidential Scholarship covering full tuition is competitive and limited to the top 5%, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with The University of Texas Permian Basin.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UTPB?

The University of Texas Permian Basin publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UTPB test-optional?

Neither admission nor this grid requires a score. For merit aid the answer is different: the current grid has no ACT thresholds anywhere. A student with no score reaches the $4,000 top rung at a 3.90 exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UTPB?

On UTPB's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Falcon Achievement Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.

Does UTPB superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and the grid reads no score.

When are UTPB scholarship deadlines?

Merit award window: September 1 to April 15. Register for New Student Orientation to secure the award: June 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this UTPB scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from The University of Texas Permian Basin's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UTPB awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UTPB is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with The University of Texas Permian Basin