Troy University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Troy University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 26. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Troy's three top awards are tuition, fee and housing waivers rather than dollar amounts, so their cash value depends on Troy's published rates and is not stated on the scholarship page. A 3.5 GPA is a hard wall for all three — a 33 ACT with a 3.4 has no band. The only band quoted in dollars, $2,000-$5,000, requires a resume and Troy says the amount is released after the deadline. The page carries no cycle year.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
The Chancellor's Scholarship
Tuition at the in-state rate
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Troy merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Troy University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman Academic Scholarships — residents and non-residents alike
The top three awards grant the IN-STATE tuition rate regardless of where you live, so for a non-resident the real value is the award plus the out-of-state differential. Troy covers up to 15 hours a semester.
Tuition, fees, full housing and a meal plan, at the in-state rate
The Scholars PLUS Award
ACT 32–36 · 3.5
Tuition, fees and standard housing, at the in-state rate
The Scholars Award
ACT 30–31 · 3.5
Tuition at the in-state rate
The Chancellor's Scholarship
ACT 26–29 · 3.5
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| The Scholars PLUS Award | ACT 32–36 · 3.5 | Tuition, fees, full housing and a meal plan, at the in-state rate |
| The Scholars Award | ACT 30–31 · 3.5 | Tuition, fees and standard housing, at the in-state rate |
| The Chancellor's Scholarship | ACT 26–29 · 3.5 | Tuition at the in-state rate |
Competitive awards — not automatic
Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.
- The Trojan Leadership Scholarship (resume required) — ACT 20+ with 3.0: Eligible to receive $2,000-$5,000 per year; the amount is released after the deadline
Source: Freshman Academic Scholarships · verified 2026-10-21
Does Troy superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word 'superscore' does not appear on Troy's scholarship or admissions pages, so no position is recorded rather than one assumed.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Troy’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Troy scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Merit scholarship deadline | February 1 (annually) |
| Merit scholarship application opens | September 1 (annually) |
| Foundation scholarships | January 1 to March 1 (annually) |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Troy University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Freshman Academic Scholarshipsverified 2026-10-21
- Undergraduate admissions — test-optional policyverified 2026-10-21
- Troy publishes no renewal GPA for the Scholars PLUS, Scholars, Chancellor's or Trojan Leadership awards. A genuine gap, left blank rather than filled in.
- The three waiver awards grant the in-state rate to out-of-state students — for a non-resident this is the largest single benefit on the page.
- Named counties in Florida and Georgia automatically qualify for in-state tuition regardless of scholarship.
- Troy labels the SAT 'RSAT' throughout its own pages.
- The Sorrell Scholars Award adds $2,000 but names only five freshmen a year, selected from Scholars Award recipients.
- The Sunshine Scholars award for Florida and Georgia residents cannot be combined with the Chancellor's, Scholars or Scholars PLUS awards.
- The TROY Legacy Scholarship is a one-time $1,000 award requiring a parent or grandparent in the National Alumni Association.
- Troy is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Troy University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Troy?
Automatic merit aid at Troy University starts at an ACT composite of 26, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches tuition, fees, full housing and a meal plan, at the in-state rate at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Troy test-optional?
Test-optional. Troy says plainly that a score is not required to be admitted, and then says separately that one is recommended for maximising scholarships — with a hard floor of 20 to qualify for any freshman award. For merit aid the answer is different: not formally required, but there is a floor and it is absolute: no score below 20 reaches any freshman scholarship, and the three waiver awards all need 26 or better. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does Troy superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word 'superscore' does not appear on Troy's scholarship or admissions pages, so no position is recorded rather than one assumed.
When are Troy scholarship deadlines?
Merit scholarship deadline: February 1 (annually). Merit scholarship application opens: September 1 (annually). Foundation scholarships: January 1 to March 1 (annually). The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Troy scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Troy University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Troy. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Troy University