Wayland Baptist University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedPlainview, TX

Wayland Baptist University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 25 and reach $20,588 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The awards are FRACTIONS OF TUITION — full, two thirds and one third — so the dollar figures move when tuition does. Wayland does not state whether they are annual or per-term, and does not say the award is automatic: its page asks students to submit a form for an enrolment coach to contact them, and describes awards as limited by budget.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

President Scholarship

Two thirds of tuition ($13,725) / year

About $54,900 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

4 more points (a 33) moves you to Trustee Scholarship — Full tuition ($20,588) a year. That is $6,863 more a year, or $27,452 over four years.

The question isn't whether 4 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Wayland Baptist merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Wayland Baptist University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Pioneer Scholarship

A score, a CLT, a valedictorian or salutatorian finish, or — for the bottom rung only — a 3.25 final high school GPA.

  • Full tuition ($20,588)

    Trustee Scholarship

    ACT 33–36 · No GPA route — score only

  • Two thirds of tuition ($13,725)

    President Scholarship

    ACT 29–32 · No GPA route — score, or valedictorian or salutatorian

  • One third of tuition ($6,863)

    Dean Scholarship

    ACT 25–28 · No GPA needed on the score route

  • One third of tuition ($6,863)

    Dean Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed

Source: Pioneer Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24

Does Wayland Baptist superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The ladder turns on ACT thresholds at 25, 29 and 33, each worth a third of tuition, so a student near any of them should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Wayland Baptist’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Wayland Baptist University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The awards are fractions of tuition — full, two thirds and one third — so the figures move when tuition does.
  • A 3.25 GPA reaches the Dean Scholarship and nothing above it. Without a test score the ceiling is one third of tuition.
  • Valedictorians and salutatorians qualify for the President Scholarship without a score, which this grid has no axis for.
  • Wayland does not state that the award is automatic, and describes awards as limited by university budget with students considered in order of admission date.
  • Wayland does not say whether the published figures are annual or per-term.
  • The renewal GPA rises with the award — 3.5 for the Trustee against 3.0 for the Dean.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Wayland Baptist University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Wayland Baptist?

Automatic merit aid at Wayland Baptist University starts at an ACT composite of 25, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $20,588 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Wayland Baptist test-optional?

The scholarship pages do not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a 3.25 final GPA qualifies for the Dean Scholarship with no score at all, but there is no GPA route to anything above it. So a student without a test tops out at one third of tuition while a 33 reaches all of it. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Wayland Baptist?

On Wayland Baptist's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President Scholarship at $13,725 a year, about $54,900 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Wayland Baptist?

The most valuable single point on Wayland Baptist's published grid is 32 to 33, on the row where it is largest: it moves the award by $6,863 a year, or $27,452 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Wayland Baptist superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The ladder turns on ACT thresholds at 25, 29 and 33, each worth a third of tuition, so a student near any of them should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.

Is this Wayland Baptist scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Wayland Baptist University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Wayland Baptist. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Wayland Baptist University