Indiana University Northwest: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleGary, IN

Indiana University Northwest awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The top rung is worded as "up to $3,000", so only the lower two are flat figures. Both score rungs require the GPA and the score together, and the SAT substitutes at 1170 and 1080. IU Northwest does not say whether these awards stack, nor whether the cumulative GPA is weighted. The awards require being admitted by December 1 and enrolled by June 1, and the top and score-free rungs require full-time enrolment.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Academic Scholarship

Up to $3,000 a year / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
IU Northwest’s admitted by is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at IU Northwest without an ACT score?

Yes. A score is worth a straight $1,000 a year at a 21 and another $1,000 at a 24. The score-free route is published and named Test-Out, so skipping the test caps the award rather than removing it.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA and a minimum SAT score of 1170 (ACT 24)”

The published IU Northwest merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Indiana University Northwest’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Admissions-based scholarships for full-time incoming freshmen

IU Northwest keeps these separate from its competitive awards. The Test-Out rung is the published score-free route. Renewable for three additional years at a 3.0.

  • Up to $3,000 a year

    Academic Scholarship

    ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ with a 24 or better

    Without a score: not available

  • $2,000 a year

    Chancellor's Merit Scholarship

    ACT 21–36 · 3.00+ with a 21 or better

    Without a score: not available

  • $1,000 a year

    Test-Out Academic Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Freshmen scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does IU Northwest superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With $1,000 a year turning on a 21 and another $1,000 on a 24, a student near either should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask IU Northwest’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

IU Northwest scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admitted byDecember 1
Enrolled byJune 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Northwest’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 3.0 with no score is $1,000 a year; the same 3.0 with a 21 is $2,000.
  • A 3.5 with a 24 reaches up to $3,000 a year.
  • The ACT is worth a straight $1,000 at a 21 and another $1,000 at a 24.
  • The score-free rung is named Test-Out, which is unusually direct.
  • Skipping the test caps the award rather than removing it.
  • The top rung is "up to", so only the lower two are flat figures.
  • The SAT substitutes at 1170 and 1080.
  • Being admitted by December 1 is a condition, which precedes many students' final test dates.
  • Renewal needs a 3.0, the same as the entry GPA for two of the three rungs.
  • A $500 dual-credit award needs six or more IU credits earned in high school, so it is not a band here.
  • Whether these awards stack is not stated.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Indiana University Northwest.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at IU Northwest?

Automatic merit aid at Indiana University Northwest starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $3,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is IU Northwest test-optional?

IU Northwest's admission testing requirement is not stated on the scholarship page, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is worth a straight $1,000 a year at a 21 and another $1,000 at a 24. The score-free route is published and named Test-Out, so skipping the test caps the award rather than removing it. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at IU Northwest?

On IU Northwest's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Academic Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at IU Northwest?

The most valuable single point on IU Northwest's published grid is 20 to 21, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does IU Northwest superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With $1,000 a year turning on a 21 and another $1,000 on a 24, a student near either should ask directly.

When are IU Northwest scholarship deadlines?

Admitted by: December 1. Enrolled by: June 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this IU Northwest scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Northwest's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at IU Northwest. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Indiana University Northwest