University of Mount Union: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritAlliance, OH

University of Mount Union awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $24,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used. The GPA cuts are unusually specific (3.92, 3.91, 3.19, 2.67), so a student near a boundary should check the exact figure rather than assume a round number. Anyone admitted who qualifies for none of the four bands may still receive the $16,000 UMU Gift, which is modelled here as the floor. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Founder's Scholarship

$23,000 / year

About $92,000 over four years, if it renews.

Mount Union awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Mount Union merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Mount Union’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic scholarships

Awarded on the high school GPA. Students admitted who do not qualify for a named band may be eligible for the UMU Gift.

  • $24,000

    Trustee Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.92

  • $23,000

    Founder's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.60

  • $22,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.20

  • $19,000

    Hartshorn Award

    No score needed · GPA 2.67

  • $16,000

    UMU Gift

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Scholarships — academic awards by GPA range · verified 2026-10-22

Does Mount Union superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Mount Union’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Mount Union’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The cuts are at 3.92, 3.91, 3.59, 3.19 and 2.67 — not round numbers.
  • The top three bands are $1,000 apart; the drop to the Hartshorn is $3,000.
  • The $16,000 UMU Gift means no admitted student is published nothing.
  • A separate Investment Alliance Scholarship pays full tuition to the top 15 students of each Alliance High School class and is not part of this grid.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Mount Union is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Mount Union.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Mount Union?

University of Mount Union publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Mount Union test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Mount Union?

On Mount Union's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Founder's Scholarship at $23,000 a year, about $92,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Mount Union superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Mount Union scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Mount Union's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Mount Union awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Mount Union is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Mount Union