Malone University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 21, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritCanton, OH

Malone University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $18,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Malone labels this grid 'Test-Optional' and keys it to the cumulative GPA alone — no score is used. Every figure is written as 'Up to', so the amounts are CEILINGS rather than guarantees. The cliff between the Dean's and Achievement bands is the steepest in this dataset: a 3.30 is worth up to $15,000 and a 3.29 up to $9,500, so one hundredth of a point is worth $5,500 a year. Malone states students receive the highest scholarship for which they qualify. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Dean's Scholarship

Up to $15,000 / year

About $60,000 over four years, if it renews.

Malone awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Malone merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Malone University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman merit awards (test-optional)

Keyed to the cumulative high school GPA. Malone states that students receive the highest scholarship for which they qualify.

  • Up to $18,000

    Trustee Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.70

  • Up to $15,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

  • Up to $9,500

    Achievement Grant

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • Up to $7,500

    Opportunity Grant

    No score needed · GPA 2.50

Source: Scholarships — Freshman Merit Awards: Test-Optional · verified 2026-10-21

Does Malone superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Malone merit band uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Malone’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Malone University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 3.30 is worth up to $15,000 and a 3.29 up to $9,500 — $5,500 a year, or $22,000 over four, for one hundredth of a GPA point.
  • Every amount is a ceiling. Malone writes 'Up to' on all four bands.
  • Students receive the highest scholarship for which they qualify, so the bands do not stack.
  • The grid is explicitly labelled test-optional.
  • Malone publishes a separate transfer ladder keyed to a collegiate GPA.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Malone is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Malone University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Malone?

Malone University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Malone test-optional?

Not stated directly, but Malone heads its freshman merit grid 'Test-Optional', so a score is not needed to reach any band on it. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. The grid is explicitly test-optional and every band is published against a cumulative GPA. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Malone?

On Malone's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Dean's Scholarship at $15,000 a year, about $60,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Malone superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Malone merit band uses a score.

Is this Malone scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Malone University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Malone awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Malone is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Malone University