Northeastern Illinois University: merit scholarships by GPA
Northeastern Illinois University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $2,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The awards are first-come, first-served and NEIU publishes no deadline, so clearing a threshold does not mean the money is still there. Eligibility is limited to Illinois residents and residents of Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri or Wisconsin, for fall entry at full-time enrolment. The page does not say whether the amounts are annual and publishes no renewal condition, so nothing is claimed about a second year. Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
NEIU Provost Merit Scholarship
$2,000 as a tuition scholarship / year
About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.
NEIU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published NEIU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Northeastern Illinois University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Illinois and neighbouring-state residents
No application required, and awarded first-come, first-served. Newly admitted, first-time, bachelor's degree-seeking students entering in the fall at full-time enrolment.
$2,000 as a tuition scholarship
NEIU Provost Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$1,000 as a tuition scholarship
NEIU Dean Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| NEIU Provost Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $2,000 as a tuition scholarship |
| NEIU Dean Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $1,000 as a tuition scholarship |
Source: University and private scholarship opportunities · verified 2026-10-24
Does NEIU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and neither published rung reads a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask NEIU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
NEIU scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| None published — first-come, first-served | Apply early |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Northeastern Illinois University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- University and private scholarship opportunitiesverified 2026-10-24
- Admissions requirementsverified 2026-10-24
- A 3.50 gets $2,000 and a 3.00 gets $1,000, with no application to fill in.
- Both are first-come, first-served, and NEIU publishes no deadline — so applying early is the only actionable advice.
- Eligibility covers Illinois plus Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri and Wisconsin.
- Fall entry and full-time enrolment only.
- Neither rung reads an ACT score.
- A 25 reaches the competitive Presidential Scholarship and a 24 the Merit, Talent and Opportunity awards, both by application.
- NEIU admits automatically at a 2.5 with no score, below where either award begins.
- The page does not say whether the amounts are annual, and no renewal condition is published.
- Secondary sources describe both awards as "up to"; NEIU's own page says "in the amount of".
- NEIU prints the top rung as a closed 3.50-4.00 window; it is read as a floor here so a weighted transcript still clears it.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Northeastern Illinois University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at NEIU?
Northeastern Illinois University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is NEIU test-optional?
A 2.5 is an automatic admission with no score at all, below where either award begins. For merit aid the answer is different: neither rung names a test. A score does reach money at NEIU, but only through competitive awards — a 25 for the Presidential Scholarship and a 24 for the Merit, Talent and Opportunity awards, both needing applications. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at NEIU?
On NEIU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for NEIU Provost Merit Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.
Does NEIU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and neither published rung reads a score.
When are NEIU scholarship deadlines?
None published — first-come, first-served: Apply early. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this NEIU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Northeastern Illinois University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
NEIU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though NEIU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Northeastern Illinois University