Northern Kentucky University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritHighland Heights, KY

Northern Kentucky University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The GPA is NKU's weighted high school GPA, and the automatic awards are limited by state of residence — Founders is Kentucky-only, and Excellence and Commonwealth reach Kentucky, Indiana and Ohio students. A student outside those three states is not served by this grid.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Excellence Scholarship

$2,000 / year

About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.

NKU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published NKU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Northern Kentucky University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Kentucky residents

Kentucky students reach all three rungs. Founders is the only one the other two states cannot.

  • $3,000

    Founders Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Excellence Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Commonwealth Scholarship

    No score needed

Competitive awards — not automatic

Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

  • Presidential Scholarship — ACT 34+ with 3.75+ weighted: Full tuition plus a $6,000 housing award

Source: First-time freshman merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Indiana and Ohio residents

No Founders rung. Excellence is open at the top instead of capping at 3.79, so a 4.0 Ohio student receives $2,000 where a 4.0 Kentucky student receives $3,000.

  • $2,000

    Excellence Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Commonwealth Scholarship

    No score needed

Competitive awards — not automatic

Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

  • Presidential Scholarship — ACT 34+ with 3.75+ weighted: Full tuition plus a $6,000 housing award

Source: First-time freshman merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does NKU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word does not appear on NKU's freshman merit page, which follows from an automatic grid that uses no test score — there is nothing for a superscore to move.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask NKU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

NKU scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Apply for admission — enrollment confirmation serves as scholarship acceptanceRolling

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Northern Kentucky University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The automatic grid uses no ACT or SAT score. Raising a score cannot move Founders, Excellence or Commonwealth.
  • Founders is Kentucky-only. An Indiana or Ohio student with a 4.0 reaches Excellence at $2,000, not Founders at $3,000.
  • Excellence caps at 3.79 for Kentucky students because Founders sits above it, and is open at 3.40+ for Indiana and Ohio students because nothing does.
  • The Presidential Scholarship — full tuition plus a $6,000 housing award at a 34 ACT and 3.75 GPA — is competitive, not automatic, so it is excluded from the lookup.
  • NKU also lists a Kentucky Governor's Scholarship for Kentucky residents. It is competitive rather than automatic and is tied to a state programme, so it is not a band on this grid.
  • Students outside Kentucky, Indiana and Ohio are not covered by any of the automatic awards on this page.
  • NKU links renewal requirements from a separate page rather than stating them with the awards, so no renewal condition is recorded here.
  • NKU states that enrollment confirmation serves as scholarship acceptance, so there is no separate scholarship application for the automatic awards.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Northern Kentucky University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at NKU?

Northern Kentucky University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is NKU test-optional?

NKU's freshman merit page does not state an admission testing requirement. It is not answered here either way, so nothing is claimed about it. For merit aid the answer is different: the three automatic awards are keyed to weighted high school GPA with no test column at all. A score changes nothing on this grid. The only award on the page that names a score is the Presidential, which needs a 34 and is awarded competitively rather than automatically. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at NKU?

On NKU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Kentucky residents — Excellence Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; Indiana and Ohio residents — Excellence Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.

Does NKU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word does not appear on NKU's freshman merit page, which follows from an automatic grid that uses no test score — there is nothing for a superscore to move.

When are NKU scholarship deadlines?

Apply for admission — enrollment confirmation serves as scholarship acceptance: Rolling. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this NKU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Northern Kentucky University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

NKU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though NKU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Northern Kentucky University