Purdue University Fort Wayne: merit scholarships by GPA
Purdue University Fort Wayne awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
No score is used — the grid is keyed to the GPA alone, with a 2.5 minimum to qualify at all. The amounts are small: $500 to $3,000 a year, which is a fraction of what the private colleges in this dataset publish and should be read against a public tuition rather than compared to them directly. Out-of-state students receive more than Indiana residents on the top two bands. PFW states the criteria apply to 'students beginning fall 2022 and on', so they have not been revisited in four cycles.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Merit scholarship
$2,000 per year / year
About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.
Purdue Fort Wayne awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Purdue Fort Wayne merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Purdue University Fort Wayne’s own pages for fall 2022 and on entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Indiana residents
Full-time undergraduate students with a minimum 2.5 GPA. A first-term enrolment deposit is among the stated requirements.
$2,000 per year
Merit scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$1,000 per year
Merit scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$500 per year
Merit scholarship
No score needed · GPA 2.50
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Merit scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $2,000 per year |
| Merit scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $1,000 per year |
| Merit scholarship | — | GPA 2.50 | $500 per year |
Source: Scholarships — amounts for first-time beginner students · verified 2026-10-21
Out-of-state students
More than the resident rate on the top two bands, identical at the bottom.
$3,000 per year
Merit scholarship (out-of-state)
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$2,000 per year
Merit scholarship (out-of-state)
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$500 per year
Merit scholarship (out-of-state)
No score needed · GPA 2.50
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Merit scholarship (out-of-state) | — | GPA 3.50 | $3,000 per year |
| Merit scholarship (out-of-state) | — | GPA 3.00 | $2,000 per year |
| Merit scholarship (out-of-state) | — | GPA 2.50 | $500 per year |
Source: Scholarships — amounts for first-time beginner students · verified 2026-10-21
Does Purdue Fort Wayne superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no PFW merit band uses a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Purdue Fort Wayne’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Purdue University Fort Wayne’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The figures are small — $500 to $3,000 a year — and should be read against public tuition, not against the privates in this dataset.
- A 2.5 GPA is the floor to qualify at all.
- Out-of-state students get $1,000 a year more than residents on the top two bands and the same at the bottom.
- The difference between a 2.99 and a 3.00 is $500 in-state and $1,500 out-of-state.
- PFW also publishes a transfer column at $1,500, $1,000 and $500.
- The criteria are dated to students beginning fall 2022 and on.
- Purdue Fort Wayne is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Purdue University Fort Wayne.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Purdue Fort Wayne?
Purdue University Fort Wayne publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Purdue Fort Wayne test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Eligibility is stated as full-time enrolment and a minimum 2.5 GPA, with no score criterion anywhere. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Purdue Fort Wayne?
On Purdue Fort Wayne's published grid for fall 2022 and on entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Indiana residents — Merit scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; Out-of-state students — Merit scholarship (out-of-state) at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Purdue Fort Wayne?
Yes. Purdue Fort Wayne publishes separate grids: Indiana residents run $500 to $2,000 a year, and Out-of-state students run $500 to $3,000 — a difference of $1,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Purdue Fort Wayne superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no PFW merit band uses a score.
Is this Purdue Fort Wayne scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Purdue University Fort Wayne's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Purdue Fort Wayne awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Purdue Fort Wayne is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Purdue University Fort Wayne