Norwich University: merit scholarships by GPA
Norwich University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.55 GPA and reach $30,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Every amount is worded "Up to", and Norwich states that only students who receive no outside scholarships are typically eligible for the maximum. More seriously, a student does not retain Norwich aid — academic awards included — alongside an ROTC scholarship, the General I.D. White award or a Pell Grant, so Pell-eligible and ROTC students may keep none of this. All institutional awards are subject to modification depending on the combination a student is eligible for. Norwich publishes no renewal GPA, and whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Award
Up to $30,000 per year for four years / year
About $120,000 over four years, if it renews.
Norwich awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Norwich merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Norwich University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year academic awards
Guaranteed on the high school GPA and issued immediately on acceptance. Award levels published for spring 2026 to fall 2026.
Up to $30,000 per year for four years
Presidential Award
No score needed · GPA 3.60
Up to $28,000 per year for four years
Provost Award
No score needed · GPA 3.40
Up to $27,000 per year for four years
Trustee Award
No score needed · GPA 3.00
Up to $25,000 per year for four years
Dean's Award
No score needed · GPA 2.55
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presidential Award | — | GPA 3.60 | Up to $30,000 per year for four years |
| Provost Award | — | GPA 3.40 | Up to $28,000 per year for four years |
| Trustee Award | — | GPA 3.00 | Up to $27,000 per year for four years |
| Dean's Award | — | GPA 2.55 | Up to $25,000 per year for four years |
Source: Scholarships, awards and military benefits · verified 2026-10-25
Does Norwich superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and no score is read for these awards.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Norwich’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Norwich scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Spring application | December 15 |
| Take the Lead Scholarship (application and FAFSA) | December 31 |
| Fall deposit | May 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Norwich University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Norwich calls the award guaranteed and issues it immediately on acceptance.
- Four rungs spanning only $5,000: up to $30,000 at a 3.60 down to up to $25,000 at a 2.550.
- The largest single step is $1,000, so the transcript barely moves the award.
- The thresholds are printed to three decimals — 2.550, 3.399, 3.599.
- No rung reads an ACT score, and no academic programme requires one.
- A student does not retain Norwich aid alongside an ROTC scholarship, the General I.D. White award or a Pell Grant.
- That makes the award worth nothing to many Pell-eligible and ROTC applicants.
- Outside scholarships can also reduce it; the maximum typically goes to students with none.
- The Academic Recognition Award, up to $23,000 a year, is by recommendation of the Admissions Office, so it is not a band.
- The ECE Scholarship needs an interview and a specific major, so it is not a band either.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Norwich University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Norwich?
Norwich University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Norwich test-optional?
No programme requires a score, which is broader than most test-optional policies. For merit aid the answer is different: the award is read from the GPA alone; the scholarship page never mentions the SAT or ACT. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Norwich?
On Norwich's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Award at $30,000 a year, about $120,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Norwich superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and no score is read for these awards.
When are Norwich scholarship deadlines?
Spring application: December 15. Take the Lead Scholarship (application and FAFSA): December 31. Fall deposit: May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Norwich scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Norwich University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Norwich awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Norwich is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Norwich University