University of Wisconsin–Green Bay: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleGreen Bay, WI

University of Wisconsin–Green Bay awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 23 and reach 100% remission. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The Phoenix Scholar Award is for students who are NON-RESIDENT for tuition purposes — Wisconsin residents are not eligible. It is published as a percentage remission rather than a dollar amount, and Green Bay does not state what the percentage applies to. It also requires in-person classes, and a mixed schedule reduces the award proportionally.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Phoenix Scholar Award — Gold

100% remission

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UW-Green Bay merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Wisconsin–Green Bay’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Non-residents qualifying on a test score

The score alone qualifies — Green Bay lists the ACT, the SAT and the GPA as alternatives rather than requirements.

  • 100% remission

    Phoenix Scholar Award — Gold

    ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route

  • 75% remission

    Phoenix Scholar Award — Green

    ACT 23–25 · No GPA required on the score route

Source: Phoenix Scholar Award · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents qualifying on GPA

The cumulative GPA alone qualifies, with no test score needed.

  • 100% remission

    Phoenix Scholar Award — Gold

    No score needed

  • 75% remission

    Phoenix Scholar Award — Green

    No score needed

Source: Phoenix Scholar Award · verified 2026-10-24

Does UW-Green Bay superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Green Bay's Phoenix Scholar page does not use the word, so a student sitting just below the 23 or 26 threshold should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UW-Green Bay’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–Green Bay’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Wisconsin residents are not eligible. The award is only for students who are non-resident for tuition purposes.
  • The award is a percentage remission, not a dollar figure, and Green Bay does not say what the percentage applies to.
  • A score or a GPA qualifies on its own — the ACT, the SAT and the cumulative GPA are listed as alternatives.
  • In-person classes are required, and Green Bay states that a mixed schedule reduces the award proportionally.
  • The award is for a first bachelor's degree only and stops at 150 attempted credits, including transfer and test credits.
  • A separate UW-Green Bay scholarship application covers other awards and is not part of this grid.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–Green Bay.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UW-Green Bay?

Automatic merit aid at University of Wisconsin–Green Bay starts at an ACT composite of 23, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches 100% remission at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is UW-Green Bay test-optional?

The Phoenix Scholar Award page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one route and a GPA is another. A 26 reaches Gold with no GPA threshold stated, and a 3.51 reaches it with no test at all — so a student uses whichever they have. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at UW-Green Bay?

Yes. UW-Green Bay publishes separate grids: Non-residents qualifying on GPA run up to 100% remission a year, and Non-residents qualifying on a test score run up to 100% remission. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does UW-Green Bay superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Green Bay's Phoenix Scholar page does not use the word, so a student sitting just below the 23 or 26 threshold should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.

Is this UW-Green Bay scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–Green Bay's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at UW-Green Bay. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–Green Bay