Indiana University Kokomo: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleKokomo, IN

Indiana University Kokomo awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $2,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Both awards require the GPA and a score together, and IU Kokomo publishes no score-free route — so an applicant who chooses not to have their scores considered reaches neither. The GPA and score minimums are floors, and whether the GPA is weighted is not stated. IU Kokomo's page does not actually use the word automatic; the awards are listed as admission-based with a March 1 deadline.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

No automatic award at this combination

A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
See where a 29 IS worth money →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Is IU Kokomo test-optional?

For admission, largely yes. Home-schooled students and NAIA athletes must submit a score regardless.

For money, no. Both awards name a composite alongside the GPA, with no test-optional route published — so choosing not to submit scores means reaching neither award. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.

“test-optional admissions policy beginning with the 2021 semesters… choose at the point of application whether to have SAT or ACT test scores considered”
— IU Kokomo scholarships

The published IU Kokomo merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Indiana University Kokomo’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman admission-based scholarships

Must be admitted with a transcript on file by March 1. Four years at full-time enrolment of at least 12 credit hours a semester.

  • $2,500 a year, renewable at a 3.3 GPA

    Chancellor's Scholarship

    ACT 25–36 · 3.8+ with a 25 or better — both required

  • $1,500 a year, renewable at a 3.0 GPA

    Dean's Scholarship

    ACT 21–36 · 3.7+ with a 21 or better — both required

Source: IU Kokomo scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does IU Kokomo superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With $1,000 a year turning on the step from a 21 to a 25, a student near either should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask IU Kokomo’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

IU Kokomo scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admitted with transcript on fileMarch 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Kokomo’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Both awards need the GPA and the score together — there is no score-free route.
  • A student who opts out of submitting scores opts out of the money entirely.
  • Four ACT points and a tenth of a grade point separate the two awards, worth $1,000 a year.
  • Below a 3.7 nothing automatic is published, one of the higher floors among regional publics here.
  • The renewal bar rises with the award: a 3.3 against a 3.0.
  • Admission with a transcript on file by March 1 rules out spring test dates for a student chasing a 25.
  • The SAT substitutes at 1220 and 1060.
  • The $2,500 Direct Admit award carries the same criteria but is nursing-only and comes with a programme seat, so it is not a band here.
  • Home-schooled students and NAIA athletes must submit a score for admission regardless.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Indiana University Kokomo.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at IU Kokomo?

Automatic merit aid at Indiana University Kokomo starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $2,500 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is IU Kokomo test-optional?

Home-schooled students and NAIA athletes must submit a score regardless. For merit aid the answer is different: both awards name a composite alongside the GPA, with no test-optional route published — so choosing not to submit scores means reaching neither award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is one more ACT point worth at IU Kokomo?

The most valuable single point on IU Kokomo's published grid is 24 to 25, at a 3.8 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does IU Kokomo superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With $1,000 a year turning on the step from a 21 to a 25, a student near either should ask directly.

When are IU Kokomo scholarship deadlines?

Admitted with transcript on file: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this IU Kokomo scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Kokomo's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at IU Kokomo. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Indiana University Kokomo