Otterbein University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritWesterville, OH

Otterbein University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.99 GPA and reach $24,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Otterbein's merit grid is high school GPA alone — there is no score column, so an ACT cannot move you between these five bands, and Otterbein states its merit calculation "will not penalize a student whether or not they submit a test score". A score still reaches the money indirectly: Otterbein's own estimator refuses to run without one, and an updated score submitted by January 15 triggers a re-evaluation "for admission and/or merit aid". Two things to read carefully. Each row says "Typically awarded to students with" its GPA rather than stating a guarantee, and Otterbein adds that "Consideration for these awards is based on a student's overall application for admission" — there is no separate application or committee, but the hedge is theirs. And the Core Scholarships are "exclusive of each other", so these five are a ladder, not a stack; the Housing Grant and Cardinal Lift Award do stack on top, while the music, theatre, full-tuition and Advantage awards REPLACE them.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Trustees' Scholarship

$22,000 / year

About $88,000 over four years, if it renews.

Otterbein awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Otterbein’s apply for admission to take full advantage of scholarship opportunities is December 15. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Otterbein merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Otterbein University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Otterbein Core Scholarships

Awarded at the time of admission with no separate application, for new first-year students entering in 2027-28. Otterbein says they are "exclusive of each other" — you receive one, not several. The published four-year values are $96,000, $92,000, $88,000, $72,000 and $64,000 respectively. The $2,000 Housing Grant and the $2,000 Cardinal Lift Award stack on top of whichever one you get.

  • $24,000

    President's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $23,000

    Provost's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $22,000

    Trustees' Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $18,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $16,000

    Alumni Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Otterbein Scholarships & Awards — 2027-28 Merit/Achievement Scholarships · verified 2026-10-23

Does Otterbein superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on Otterbein's scholarships page, its test-optional policy or its admission pages. What Otterbein does publish is a re-evaluation window rather than a combining rule: "students are able to submit updated scores or admission criteria up to January 15 to have your application reevaluated for admission and/or merit aid." That means a later, higher sitting can be used — but whether sections are combined across dates is unanswered, so ask admissions before deciding what to send.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Otterbein’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Otterbein scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Apply for admission to take full advantage of scholarship opportunitiesDecember 15
Apply by, for endowed scholarships, the full-tuition essay competition, the Battelle Memorial Scholarship and the Young Artist AwardDecember 15
Last date to submit updated scores or criteria for re-evaluation for merit aidJanuary 15
FAFSA priority filing date for a May 1 decisionJanuary 31, 2027

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Otterbein University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The Core Scholarships are "exclusive of each other" — this is a ladder, not a stack. Two awards do add on top: a $2,000 Housing Grant for students in a university residence hall (not apartments, theme houses or Greek housing, and not for commuters), and a $2,000 Cardinal Lift Award for Ohio residents living outside Franklin and its contiguous counties. A $1,000 Sibling/Legacy Award is offered to first-year students with an Otterbein parent, grandparent or concurrently enrolled sibling.
  • Several larger awards REPLACE the grid rather than adding to it, and that mutual exclusion is the thing most likely to surprise a family. The $25,000 Advantage Scholarship, for students whose parent or guardian works for an Otterbein Advantage Partner, sits inside the same mutually exclusive block and pays $1,000 more than the President's. The $20,000 Honoring Service Scholarship, for Folds of Honor or Ohio War Orphans recipients, "replaces other Otterbein merit aid". The $20,000 Global Scholars Diploma award is given "in lieu of other merit awards". Music and BFA Musical Theatre and Acting talent awards of $22,000 to $32,000 are "offered in lieu of other Otterbein awards or merit scholarships", and the $33,000 Young Artist Award "replaces all other Otterbein aid".
  • Otterbein prints the Alumni Scholarship floor as "High School GPA >= 2.99", which read literally is a minimum every band above it also clears. It is reproduced exactly as printed and the lookup returns the highest qualifying band, so a 3.5 still gets the Trustees' $22,000. Treat the ">=" as probably a typo for "<=" and confirm with Otterbein if your GPA is near 2.99.
  • Each row says "Typically awarded to students with" its GPA, and the block above adds "Consideration for these awards is based on a student's overall application for admission." There is no separate application, no portal and no committee, which is why these are recorded as automatic — but the word is Otterbein's and the grid is not promised at the hundredth.
  • The deadline wording conflicts across pages. The scholarships page says to apply "before December 15 to take full advantage of Otterbein's scholarship opportunities" and the estimator footnote says to "apply for admission by December 15 of your senior year", while the test-optional policy allows updated scores and criteria "up to January 15" for a merit-aid re-evaluation. Both are real; December 15 is the gate for the competitive and endowed awards and January 15 is only a re-evaluation window.
  • The Ohio College Opportunity Grant is STATE money, not Otterbein's, and is deliberately kept out of the grid — Otterbein uses it as a trigger for its own No Loan To Tuition commitment: "Students receiving the OHIO COLLEGE OPPORTUNITY GRANT are awarded to tuition without calculating the value of the federal direct student loan into the scholarship." The companion Opportunity Scholarship is need-based and goes to Ohio residents whose families earn $60,000 or less or who receive a federal Pell Grant.
  • Otterbein is United Methodist-affiliated and publishes a denominational award: United Methodist Ministerial Grants of $500 to $7,000 for students whose parent or guardian is a United Methodist minister and who have unmet financial need. It "replaces all other Otterbein need-based aid" and requires the FAFSA.
  • The three full-tuition scholarships are awarded through an essay competition, are "by invitation only", must be applied for by December 15, and their value "replaces all other Otterbein aid". The Scholars Day competition behind them is one of the programs that does require a test score. The Battelle Memorial Scholarship for student leaders from Franklin and contiguous counties is competitive, invitation-only, and also replaces all other Otterbein aid.
  • Choose Ohio First STEM scholarships of up to $8,500 are state-funded, require the FAFSA and an interview, and renew at a 3.0 GPA with the student remaining in a qualifying major. The Physics full-tuition scholarship and the Wiese Engineering Scholarship also require an interview, and the Physics award replaces all other Otterbein aid.
  • Talent awards can cost a student need-based money: "Talent awards offered after a student has been awarded need-based aid may result in the reduction or elimination of the need-based aid." There is also a limit of one talent award per student.
  • The adult and transfer ladder is a separate grid with overlapping award names and lower amounts — Presidential at $17,000 against the first-year President's at $24,000, Provost at $15,000, Alumni at $12,000, and an Associate Degree Scholarship at $19,000 — and the two sets must not be conflated. Its renewal rule is also different: a 2.75 Otterbein GPA by the end of the second year.
  • Otterbein is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Otterbein University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Otterbein?

Otterbein University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Otterbein test-optional?

Optional, and chosen by the applicant inside the Common Application. Otterbein nudges lower-GPA applicants to submit anyway — "Students with a high school GPA of 2.75 or lower are encouraged to submit a test score if available" — and says a score will not count against anyone. Several programs are carved out and do require a score: the Honors Program, Education, Engineering, Nursing, and the Scholars Day competition for the full-tuition scholarships. For merit aid the answer is different: optional, and no published figure is keyed to a score. The five Core Scholarships are read off GPA bands only, and Otterbein states its merit calculation will not penalise a student either way. A score still matters at the edges: the aid estimator requires one, an updated score by January 15 earns a re-evaluation for merit aid, and the three full-tuition scholarships are decided at a Scholars Day competition that does require a score. There is no test-optional premium band to model — the GPA ladder already is the test-optional route — so no band carries a testOptionalGpa. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Otterbein?

On Otterbein's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Trustees' Scholarship at $22,000 a year, about $88,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Otterbein superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on Otterbein's scholarships page, its test-optional policy or its admission pages. What Otterbein does publish is a re-evaluation window rather than a combining rule: "students are able to submit updated scores or admission criteria up to January 15 to have your application reevaluated for admission and/or merit aid." That means a later, higher sitting can be used — but whether sections are combined across dates is unanswered, so ask admissions before deciding what to send.

When are Otterbein scholarship deadlines?

Apply for admission to take full advantage of scholarship opportunities: December 15. Apply by, for endowed scholarships, the full-tuition essay competition, the Battelle Memorial Scholarship and the Young Artist Award: December 15. Last date to submit updated scores or criteria for re-evaluation for merit aid: January 15. FAFSA priority filing date for a May 1 decision: January 31, 2027. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Otterbein scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Otterbein University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Otterbein awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Otterbein is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Otterbein University