Mississippi Valley State University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Mississippi Valley State University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Each award has its own deadline, which suggests an application rather than an automatic award, and a retired MVSU page described these as given "on a competitive basis" — so the thresholds are published and the guarantee is not. The three deadlines also disagree on the entry year. A retired version of the grid set higher ACT floors for out-of-state students; the current pages mention no residency split. A FAFSA is required. MVSU's live scholarship pages block automated requests, so these figures were confirmed from archived captures of them rather than a live read.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Academic Scholarship
Tuition, room, board, fees and a book allowance of $500
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published MVSU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Mississippi Valley State University’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Incoming freshmen
Every rung asks for the same 3.0 GPA — only the score moves. Renewable for three further years.
Tuition, room, board, fees and a book allowance of $500
Presidential Academic Scholarship
ACT 24–36 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA
Full tuition and fees and a book allowance of $300
Vice President's Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA
1/2 tuition and fees, plus a book allowance of $200
University Scholarship
ACT 20–21 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Academic Scholarship | ACT 24–36 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA | Tuition, room, board, fees and a book allowance of $500 |
| Vice President's Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA | Full tuition and fees and a book allowance of $300 |
| University Scholarship | ACT 20–21 · 3.00+ cumulative high school GPA | 1/2 tuition and fees, plus a book allowance of $200 |
Source: Scholarships index · verified 2026-10-24
Does MVSU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. With a 20, a 22 and a 24 separating three very different awards, a student near a boundary should ask directly.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask MVSU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
MVSU scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Presidential Academic Scholarship | February 1, 2027 |
| Vice President's Scholarship | July 1, 2026 |
| University Scholarship | July 1, 2026 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Mississippi Valley State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Presidential Academic Scholarshipverified 2026-10-24
- Vice President's Scholarshipverified 2026-10-24
- University Scholarshipverified 2026-10-24
- Scholarships indexverified 2026-10-24
- All three rungs ask for the same 3.0 GPA — the ACT is the only thing that moves the award.
- A 20 is half tuition and fees; a 22 is full tuition and fees; a 24 adds room and board.
- Four ACT points separate a half-tuition award from one covering nearly everything.
- The awards are coverage rather than cash, so their worth tracks MVSU's published cost.
- The top award includes room and board, so it assumes living on campus.
- Below a 20 nothing is published.
- The renewal bar rises with the award — a 3.25 for the Presidential against a 3.0 for the others.
- A FAFSA is required.
- The Valedictorian and Salutatorian award turns on class rank rather than a score, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Mississippi Valley State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at MVSU?
Automatic merit aid at Mississippi Valley State University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches tuition, room, board, fees and a book allowance of $500 at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is MVSU test-optional?
MVSU's admission testing requirement is not stated on the scholarship pages, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every rung names an ACT score, and the GPA requirement is the same 3.0 throughout — so the score is the only thing that decides which award a student receives. There is no score-free route. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does MVSU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. With a 20, a 22 and a 24 separating three very different awards, a student near a boundary should ask directly.
When are MVSU scholarship deadlines?
Presidential Academic Scholarship: February 1, 2027. Vice President's Scholarship: July 1, 2026. University Scholarship: July 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this MVSU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Mississippi Valley State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at MVSU. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Mississippi Valley State University