University of South Carolina Upstate: merit scholarships by ACT score and class rank

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleSpartanburg, SC

University of South Carolina Upstate awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $10,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Every award also requires a class rank — top 10% for Chancellor, top 20% for Provost, top 30% for Dean — and a lookup cannot know a student's rank, so the figures here assume that condition is met. The Chancellor amount halves to $5,000 for a commuting student. USC Upstate's scholarships page and its application FAQ disagree about the Dean award, the FAQ asking for a top-10% rank with a 3.25 where the scholarships page asks top 30% and prints no GPA; the scholarships page is followed. Its Valedictorian award is gated on ranking first in the class, which no score reaches, so it is not a band here.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Provost Scholars

$3,000 a year / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
USC Upstate’s spring priority is December 20. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published USC Upstate merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of South Carolina Upstate’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Students living on campus

All students are automatically considered on the admission application and transcripts. Renewal needs a 3.0 cumulative USC Upstate GPA for every award.

  • $10,000 a year

    Chancellor Scholars

    ACT 27–36 · 3.75+ with a 27 or better and a top 10% rank

  • $3,000 a year

    Provost Scholars

    ACT 25–36 · 3.50+ with a 25 or better and a top 20% rank

  • $2,000 a year

    Dean Scholars

    ACT 22–36 · A 22 or better with a top 30% rank

Source: Student scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Commuting students

Only the top award changes: Chancellor halves to $5,000. The Provost and Dean awards are the same either way.

  • $5,000 a year

    Chancellor Scholars

    ACT 27–36 · 3.75+ with a 27 or better and a top 10% rank

  • $3,000 a year

    Provost Scholars

    ACT 25–36 · 3.50+ with a 25 or better and a top 20% rank

  • $2,000 a year

    Dean Scholars

    ACT 22–36 · A 22 or better with a top 30% rank

Source: Student scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does USC Upstate superscore for scholarships?

Not stated on USC Upstate's own pages. With $7,000 a year turning on the step from a 25 to a 27, a student near it should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask USC Upstate’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

USC Upstate scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Fall priorityAugust 10
Spring priorityDecember 20

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of South Carolina Upstate’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 22 with a top-30% rank is $2,000; a 27 with a top-10% rank and a 3.75 is $10,000.
  • Those three ACT points are the largest single step on any South Carolina grid in this dataset.
  • Every award also requires a class rank, which a lookup cannot check — the figures here assume it is met.
  • Living on campus doubles the top award: $10,000 against $5,000 for a commuter.
  • The two middle awards do not change with housing.
  • A commuting Chancellor Scholar still earns $2,000 more than the Provost award.
  • Every award requires a score, and USC Upstate states no test-optional policy.
  • Its two pages disagree about the Dean award's rank and GPA requirements.
  • The Valedictorian award pays the same as Chancellor at a 21 but requires ranking first in the class, so no score reaches it.
  • Renewal needs a 3.0, above the entry GPA for two of the four awards.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of South Carolina Upstate.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at USC Upstate?

Automatic merit aid at University of South Carolina Upstate starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $10,000 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is USC Upstate test-optional?

Neither USC Upstate page states an admission testing policy. Only a third-party site describes it as test-optional, which is not carried here. For merit aid the answer is different: all four awards print a minimum SAT or ACT, so a student without a score reaches none of them. The step from a 25 to a 27 is worth $7,000 a year for a student living on campus. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at USC Upstate?

On USC Upstate's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Students living on campus — Provost Scholars at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews; Commuting students — Provost Scholars at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at USC Upstate?

The most valuable single point on USC Upstate's published grid is 26 to 27, at a 3.75 GPA: it moves the award by $7,000 a year, or $28,000 across a four-year degree on the Students living on campus grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does USC Upstate superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated on USC Upstate's own pages. With $7,000 a year turning on the step from a 25 to a 27, a student near it should ask directly.

When are USC Upstate scholarship deadlines?

Fall priority: August 10. Spring priority: December 20. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this USC Upstate scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of South Carolina Upstate's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at USC Upstate. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of South Carolina Upstate