Southwestern Oklahoma State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 21, 2026Current cycleWeatherford, OK

Southwestern Oklahoma State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to the ACT alone, with no GPA criterion. Awards start at an ACT of 28 and reach $3,520 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

SWOSU publishes the amounts for its four Academic Achievement tiers ($6350, $5000, $2500, $1500) but never publishes the ACT or GPA cutoffs that decide which tier a student lands in, so those tiers are NOT in the grid below — including them would mean guessing. What SWOSU does state is a single automatic threshold: a 28 ACT earns a $3520 Residence Hall Scholarship, which pays toward a room rather than tuition. Oklahoma residents only, admitted by the March 1 priority deadline, with official test scores and transcripts required. Awards do not stack — a student qualifying for two gets only the larger. SWOSU's scholarship page carries no cycle year.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Residence Hall Scholarship

$3520 towards room ($1760 per semester) for up to 8 semesters / year

About $14,080 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published SWOSU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

SWOSU's one published threshold

The only SWOSU award with both a figure and a cutoff in print. All Oklahoma residents fully admitted by the March 1st priority deadline are automatically considered; official test scores and high school transcripts are needed to determine eligibility.

  • $3520 towards room ($1760 per semester) for up to 8 semesters

    Residence Hall Scholarship

    ACT 28–36 · with no GPA criterion published

Source: Academic Scholarships — new freshmen · verified 2026-10-21

Top Freshman Awards (competitive, extra application)

SWOSU states these outright: "These awards are not guaranteed and require additional application materials." A resume, two 500-word essays and a six- or seven-semester transcript are due by March 1st, a committee reviews them after the deadline, and students hear by mid-April. They are listed for reference and excluded from the lookup.

    Competitive awards — not automatic

    Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

    • Oklahoma Rising Scholars — : $5000 cash per year, full tuition, & residence hall scholarship
    • Baccalaureate Scholarship — ACT 30+ with Minimum of a 30 on a national ACT, Oklahoma residents: $3500 cash per year, full tuition, & residence hall scholarship
    • University-Sponsored Baccalaureate Scholarship — ACT 30+ with Minimum of a 30 on a national ACT, Oklahoma residents: $3500 cash per year, full tuition, & residence hall scholarship
    • OK Rising Scholar Nominee — ACT 30+ with One of: a 30 ACT, or a 3.8 GPA with a top 4% or #1 or #2 rank, or a 3.8 GPA with a 28 ACT — Oklahoma residents: $3200 cash per year, full tuition, & residence hall scholarship

    Source: Academic Scholarships — new freshmen · verified 2026-10-21

    Does SWOSU superscore for scholarships?

    Not stated. The threshold reads '28+ on the ACT' with no indication of whether sittings may be combined to reach it.

    With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SWOSU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

    Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

    SWOSU scholarship deadlines

    Entry termDue
    Fully admitted by the priority deadline for automatic considerationMarch 1st
    Top Freshman Award application and all materialsMarch 1st
    Official scholarship letters sentthe Spring before their first semester

    Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

    Where these numbers came from

    Every figure on this page was read from Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

    • SWOSU prints four tiers of dollar amounts and no cutoffs for them, so a student cannot tell in advance which tier they qualify for. Only the 28-ACT Residence Hall Scholarship has both a figure and a threshold.
    • The Residence Hall Scholarship pays toward a room, not tuition, so a commuter gains nothing from it.
    • Awards do not stack: 'students may only receive one academic honor listed above. Should a student qualify for two categories, the larger value award will be given.'
    • Oklahoma residents only for the automatic awards and for every Top Freshman Award.
    • The Top Freshman Awards are explicitly not guaranteed and need a resume plus two 500-word essays by March 1st, with committee review afterwards.
    • A 2.0 renewal GPA across 8 semesters is unusually forgiving.
    • SWOSU's scholarship page carries no cycle year, so a family should confirm the figures against the current cycle before relying on them.
    • SWOSU is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

    Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

    Frequently asked questions

    What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SWOSU?

    Automatic merit aid at Southwestern Oklahoma State University starts at an ACT composite of 28, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $3,520 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

    Is SWOSU test-optional?

    SWOSU does not state an admission test stance on its scholarship pages. What it does state is that merit eligibility cannot be settled without official scores: a self-reported number will not do. For merit aid the answer is different: required in the sense that matters: official test scores are needed to determine eligibility for the automatic freshman awards, and the one award with a published threshold is keyed to a 28 ACT with no GPA alternative. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

    How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at SWOSU?

    On SWOSU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for SWOSU's one published threshold — Residence Hall Scholarship at $3,520 a year, about $14,080 over four years if it renews.

    Does SWOSU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

    Not stated. The threshold reads '28+ on the ACT' with no indication of whether sittings may be combined to reach it.

    When are SWOSU scholarship deadlines?

    Fully admitted by the priority deadline for automatic consideration: March 1st. Top Freshman Award application and all materials: March 1st. Official scholarship letters sent: the Spring before their first semester. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

    Is this SWOSU scholarship data current?

    Every figure on this page was read from Southwestern Oklahoma State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

    Other schools to check

    What to do next

    You know what a score is worth at SWOSU. The question is whether you can move it.

    A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

    Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Southwestern Oklahoma State University