Texas A&M University-Kingsville: merit scholarships and what the school publishes
Texas A&M University-Kingsville publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Kingsville describes these ACT numbers as what recipients "typically" have, not as thresholds, so neither tier is guaranteed by a score — treat both bands as low-confidence. Both amounts are ranges with no published rule for where inside one a student lands, so no amount is declared. Each tier also expects a class rank, top 10 percent for Presidential and top 20 percent for Academic Excellence, alongside the score. Kingsville awards merit to "at least 50%" of admitted students, which means it is not awarded to all of them.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Scholarship
$5,000 to $12,000 per year
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Texas A&M-Kingsville merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Texas A&M University-Kingsville’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-time-in-college merit scholarships
Offered automatically with no separate application, to at least half of admitted students. The score and rank figures are described as typical rather than required.
$5,000 to $12,000 per year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 27–36 · No GPA published; top 10 percent class rank expected
$1,000 to $4,000 per year
Academic Excellence Scholarship
ACT 24–36 · No GPA published; top 20 percent class rank expected
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 27–36 · No GPA published; top 10 percent class rank expected | $5,000 to $12,000 per year |
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | ACT 24–36 · No GPA published; top 20 percent class rank expected | $1,000 to $4,000 per year |
Source: First-time-in-college merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-25
Does Texas A&M-Kingsville superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. With "typical" rather than fixed cutoffs, a student near 24 or 27 should ask what is read.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Texas A&M-Kingsville’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Texas A&M-Kingsville scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority — complete application with transcripts and scores | February 15 |
| Reconsideration requests (Fall) | March 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Texas A&M University-Kingsville’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The ACT figures are described as what recipients "typically" have, not as cutoffs.
- A 27 therefore does not guarantee the Presidential award, and a 26 does not rule it out.
- Each tier expects a class rank alongside the score: top 10 percent, or top 20 percent.
- The Presidential range is $5,000 to $12,000 a year — a $7,000 spread with no published rule.
- Academic Excellence is $1,000 to $4,000 a year.
- Merit is offered automatically to at least 50% of admitted students, so not to all of them.
- An out-of-state recipient also pays in-state tuition while holding the award.
- That waiver does not cover summer terms.
- Renewal requires 30 credit hours in the academic year, more than a standard load.
- Students without scores are considered on class rank and high school GPA.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Texas A&M University-Kingsville.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Texas A&M-Kingsville?
Automatic merit aid at Texas A&M University-Kingsville starts at an ACT composite of 24, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $5,000 to $12,000 per year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Texas A&M-Kingsville test-optional?
Kingsville does not state an admission test policy on this page. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is read for both tiers, but as part of a typical profile rather than a threshold. Students without scores are judged on class rank and high school GPA instead. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does Texas A&M-Kingsville superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. With "typical" rather than fixed cutoffs, a student near 24 or 27 should ask what is read.
When are Texas A&M-Kingsville scholarship deadlines?
Priority — complete application with transcripts and scores: February 15. Reconsideration requests (Fall): March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Texas A&M-Kingsville scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Texas A&M University-Kingsville's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Texas A&M-Kingsville. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Texas A&M University-Kingsville