University of North Carolina Asheville: merit scholarships and what the school publishes
University of North Carolina Asheville publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
UNC Asheville publishes no threshold and no amount for the University Merit Award — only that applying by March 1 brings automatic consideration and that the amount varies by residency and academic profile. A third-party site quotes a $3,000 to $5,000 range; no UNC Asheville page confirms it, so it is not carried. AVL Scholars, the one award with a published GPA, is limited to North Carolina residents from the 15 Buncombe County public high schools, uses a weighted GPA and requires a FAFSA and residency determination, so it is not a band. Deferring enrolment can change the award.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
University Merit Award
automatically considered for University Merit Award
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UNC Asheville merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of North Carolina Asheville’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
University Merit Award
Automatic consideration for everyone who applies by the March 1 Regular Decision deadline. No tier, threshold or amount is published.
automatically considered for University Merit Award
University Merit Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| University Merit Award | — | automatically considered for University Merit Award |
Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-25
Does UNC Asheville superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The one published score requirement, a 17 for applicants between a 2.5 and a 2.79, is an admission condition rather than a merit threshold.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UNC Asheville’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
UNC Asheville scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Early Action | November 1 |
| Regular Decision — required for merit consideration | March 1 |
| Spring | November 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of North Carolina Asheville’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships and grantsverified 2026-10-25
- First-year admissionverified 2026-10-25
- AVL Scholars announcementverified 2026-10-25
- Applicants with a weighted GPA between 2.5 and 2.79 must submit at least a 17 on the ACT.
- At a weighted 2.8 and above, UNC Asheville is test-optional.
- March 1 is the deadline that controls merit consideration — missing it forfeits the award.
- No threshold and no amount is published for the University Merit Award.
- The award varies by residency status and academic profile at the time of admission.
- AVL Scholars covers the full cost of tuition and mandatory fees, a minimum saving of $7,628 a year.
- It is limited to North Carolina residents from the 15 Buncombe County public high schools and uses a weighted 3.3.
- That county restriction is why it is not carried as a band here.
- Renewal needs only a 2.50, which is forgiving by the standards of this dataset.
- Deferring enrolment can change the award.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of North Carolina Asheville.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UNC Asheville?
University of North Carolina Asheville publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is UNC Asheville test-optional?
Test-optional at a weighted 2.8 and above. Between a 2.5 and a 2.79 a 17 on the ACT is required, with no published alternative. For merit aid the answer is different: uNC Asheville publishes no criteria at all for the University Merit Award, so whether a score is read for it is not stated. AVL Scholars reads a weighted GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does UNC Asheville superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The one published score requirement, a 17 for applicants between a 2.5 and a 2.79, is an admission condition rather than a merit threshold.
When are UNC Asheville scholarship deadlines?
Early Action: November 1. Regular Decision — required for merit consideration: March 1. Spring: November 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this UNC Asheville scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of North Carolina Asheville's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at UNC Asheville. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of North Carolina Asheville