North Greenville University: merit scholarships by ACT score
North Greenville University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 24 and reach $12,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
The amounts depend on housing — a commuter is paid $2,000 to $3,000 a year less at every tier. The GPA is South Carolina's Uniform Grading Policy WEIGHTED GPA. NGU's score-free route to the top Founder's award needs a 4.7+ on that five-point scale, which is above this tool's GPA axis, so it is described in the notes rather than shown as a row — a student above a 4.7 with no score should expect Founder's, not the President's award this grid will show them.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Founder's Scholarship (score route)
$12,000 a year / year
About $48,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at NGU without an ACT score?
Yes. Every tier has a score-free route, so a score is optional — but it is worth a great deal in the middle of the grid. At a 3.50 weighted GPA a student reaches only the $7,000 Dean's award without a score; a 24 lifts that to $9,000 and a 27 to $12,000 as a resident. That is $5,000 a year across three ACT points.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“Founder's Scholarship 3.5 GPA AND 1250 SAT, 27 ACT or 84 CLT OR 4.7+ GPA”
The published NGU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from North Greenville University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Living on campus
No scholarship application — applying to NGU is enough. Each award is reachable with a 3.50 weighted GPA plus a score, or on GPA alone.
$12,000 a year
Founder's Scholarship (score route)
ACT 27–36 · 3.50+ weighted
Without a score: not available
$9,000 a year
President's Scholarship (score route)
ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ weighted
Without a score: not available
$9,000 a year
President's Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$7,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Founder's Scholarship (score route) | ACT 27–36 · 3.50+ weighted | not available | $12,000 a year |
| President's Scholarship (score route) | ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ weighted | not available | $9,000 a year |
| President's Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.75 | $9,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.00 | $7,000 a year |
Source: Academic scholarships — 2026-27 resident and commuter amounts · verified 2026-10-24
Commuting
The same criteria paid $2,000 to $3,000 a year lower. A commuting Founder's recipient receives what a resident President's recipient does.
$9,000 a year
Founder's Scholarship (score route)
ACT 27–36 · 3.50+ weighted
Without a score: not available
$7,000 a year
President's Scholarship (score route)
ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ weighted
Without a score: not available
$7,000 a year
President's Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$5,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Founder's Scholarship (score route) | ACT 27–36 · 3.50+ weighted | not available | $9,000 a year |
| President's Scholarship (score route) | ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ weighted | not available | $7,000 a year |
| President's Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.75 | $7,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.00 | $5,000 a year |
Source: Academic scholarships — 2026-27 resident and commuter amounts · verified 2026-10-24
Does NGU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. NGU names single ACT thresholds and never addresses superscoring, which matters because the gap between its 24 and 27 thresholds is worth $3,000 a year.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask NGU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from North Greenville University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Academic scholarships — 2026-27 resident and commuter amountsverified 2026-10-24
- Undergraduate admission FAQs — test policyverified 2026-10-24
- Commuting costs $2,000 to $3,000 a year at every tier, so housing is worth about as much as a whole award tier here.
- At a 3.50 weighted GPA, a 24 ACT is worth $2,000 a year over the Dean's award and a 27 is worth $5,000.
- The GPA is South Carolina's Uniform Grading Policy weighted GPA, which runs above 4.0.
- NGU's score-free route to Founder's needs a 4.7+ on that scale. It is not a row here because a 4.7 is above this tool's GPA axis — but it is real, and a student above it with no score should expect $12,000 as a resident rather than the $9,000 this grid will show.
- The score routes all require a 3.50 weighted GPA as well, so a score alone reaches nothing.
- SAT and CLT equivalents are 1250 and 84 for Founder's, 1100 and 74 for President's.
- The Dean's award renews on a 2.75 where the two above it need a 3.0.
- The Trustee award ($20,000 resident, $10,000 commuter, at a 3.8 weighted with a 28) and the Kalos award are competitive, so neither is a band.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with North Greenville University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at NGU?
Automatic merit aid at North Greenville University starts at an ACT composite of 24, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $12,000 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is NGU test-optional?
Scores are optional for freshmen; NGU accepts the ACT, SAT and CLT. Admission itself needs at least a 3.0 cumulative South Carolina weighted GPA. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier has a score-free route, so a score is optional — but it is worth a great deal in the middle of the grid. At a 3.50 weighted GPA a student reaches only the $7,000 Dean's award without a score; a 24 lifts that to $9,000 and a 27 to $12,000 as a resident. That is $5,000 a year across three ACT points. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at NGU?
On NGU's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Living on campus — Founder's Scholarship (score route) at $12,000 a year, about $48,000 over four years if it renews; Commuting — Founder's Scholarship (score route) at $9,000 a year, about $36,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at NGU?
The most valuable single point on NGU's published grid is 26 to 27, at a 3.5 GPA: it moves the award by $3,000 a year, or $12,000 across a four-year degree on the Living on campus grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does NGU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. NGU names single ACT thresholds and never addresses superscoring, which matters because the gap between its 24 and 27 thresholds is worth $3,000 a year.
Is this NGU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from North Greenville University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at NGU. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with North Greenville University