St. Bonaventure University: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleHolistic reviewSt. Bonaventure, NY

St. Bonaventure University publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

St. Bonaventure prices five rungs and attaches no GPA or score threshold to any of them, describing each only in words, so no transcript can be mapped to a figure. Living off campus reduces the award by 25%. Awards do not combine — a student receives one category only. The page still refers to the SAT's "Critical Reading" section, wording retired years ago, so parts of it may be stale. A search snippet gives renewal GPAs of 3.25 for Presidential and 3.0 for Friars, which is not confirmed on the page.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Presidential, Friars, Provost, Achievement or Incentive award

awarded on the basis of your three year cumulative high school average (freshman through junior year), rigor of courses and SAT or ACT scores

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published St. Bonaventure merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from St. Bonaventure University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman merit awards

No separate application. Five rungs from $30,000 a year down to $17,000, described in words rather than numbers.

  • awarded on the basis of your three year cumulative high school average (freshman through junior year), rigor of courses and SAT or ACT scores

    Presidential, Friars, Provost, Achievement or Incentive award

    No score needed

Source: Scholarship opportunities · verified 2026-10-25

Does St. Bonaventure superscore for scholarships?

St. Bonaventure uses the best combined result of the SAT sections or the ACT score, whichever is higher. That reads as SAT section superscoring; ACT superscoring is not stated.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask St. Bonaventure’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

St. Bonaventure scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Rolling — applications reviewed year-roundRolling

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from St. Bonaventure University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Five rungs: Presidential $30,000 a year, Friars $28,000, Provost $25,000, Achievement $22,000, Incentive $17,000.
  • Four-year totals are printed alongside, from $120,000 down to $68,000.
  • No rung carries a GPA or score threshold; each is described in words only.
  • The Incentive Grant goes to students "not qualified for any other merit award", so nearly every admit receives something.
  • Living off campus reduces the merit scholarship by 25%.
  • That penalty is worth more than two rungs of the ladder.
  • Awards do not combine — one category only.
  • The GPA counts freshman through junior year, so a strong senior year cannot move it.
  • The SAT or ACT is named as a basis for the award, which is unusual for a school publishing no cutoffs.
  • The page still refers to the SAT's retired "Critical Reading" section, so parts of it may be stale.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with St. Bonaventure University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at St. Bonaventure?

St. Bonaventure University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is St. Bonaventure test-optional?

No score is required to apply. For merit aid the answer is different: st. Bonaventure names the SAT or ACT as one basis for the award, which most schools of this shape do not — and still gives test-optional applicants full consideration on the GPA and course rigour. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does St. Bonaventure superscore the ACT for scholarships?

St. Bonaventure uses the best combined result of the SAT sections or the ACT score, whichever is higher. That reads as SAT section superscoring; ACT superscoring is not stated.

When are St. Bonaventure scholarship deadlines?

Rolling — applications reviewed year-round: Rolling. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this St. Bonaventure scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from St. Bonaventure University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at St. Bonaventure. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with St. Bonaventure University