University of Tennessee Southern: merit scholarships by ACT score
University of Tennessee Southern awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 18 and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Both criteria are required — UT Southern states the awards are based on the GPA and the ACT together, so clearing one is not enough. The money is concentrated at the top: a 27 with a 3.5 is worth $6,000 while a 22 with a 3.25 is worth $3,000, and the two bottom bands are $500 apart. The page carries no cycle year.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Provost's Scholar
$6,000 annually / year
About $24,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UT Southern merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Tennessee Southern’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Merit scholarships
Automatic and renewable with no separate application. Both the ACT threshold and the GPA minimum must be met.
$6,000 annually
Provost's Scholar
ACT 27–36 · a minimum 3.5 GPA
$3,000 annually
Dean's Scholar
ACT 22–36 · a minimum 3.25 GPA
$1,500 annually
Firehawk Scholar
ACT 19–36 · a minimum 3.0 GPA
$1,000 annually
Rising Scholar
ACT 18–36 · a minimum 3.0 GPA
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Provost's Scholar | ACT 27–36 · a minimum 3.5 GPA | $6,000 annually |
| Dean's Scholar | ACT 22–36 · a minimum 3.25 GPA | $3,000 annually |
| Firehawk Scholar | ACT 19–36 · a minimum 3.0 GPA | $1,500 annually |
| Rising Scholar | ACT 18–36 · a minimum 3.0 GPA | $1,000 annually |
Source: Financial Aid — merit scholarships by GPA and ACT · verified 2026-10-22
Does UT Southern superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The thresholds are written as single ACT figures with no indication of whether sittings may be combined.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UT Southern’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Tennessee Southern’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Both the score and the GPA must be met on every band.
- Moving from a 26 to a 27 doubles the award from $3,000 to $6,000, provided the GPA also reaches 3.5.
- The two bottom bands are $500 apart and share a 3.0 GPA floor.
- No separate application — the awards are automatic and renewable.
- The page carries no cycle year.
- UT Southern is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Tennessee Southern.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UT Southern?
Automatic merit aid at University of Tennessee Southern starts at an ACT composite of 18, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $6,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is UT Southern test-optional?
Not stated on the financial aid page. Every merit band requires a score alongside the GPA. For merit aid the answer is different: required, and required together with the GPA. UT Southern publishes no test-optional route to this grid. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UT Southern?
On UT Southern's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Provost's Scholar at $6,000 a year, about $24,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at UT Southern?
The most valuable single point on UT Southern's published grid is 26 to 27, at a 3.5 GPA: it moves the award by $3,000 a year, or $12,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does UT Southern superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The thresholds are written as single ACT figures with no indication of whether sittings may be combined.
Is this UT Southern scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Tennessee Southern's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at UT Southern. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Tennessee Southern