Northwood University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritMidland, MI

Northwood University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $17,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The top rung — the $18,000 Presidential Scholarship — is marked "limited funds available" on Northwood's own page, so it is not assured; the highest guaranteed award is the $17,000 Freedom Scholarship. Northwood also says awards are based on GPA and test scores while publishing a GPA-only table, and directs students to its net price calculator, so a score may change the figure by an amount nothing published states.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Free Enterprise Scholarship

$15,000 per year / year

About $60,000 over four years, if it renews.

Northwood awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Northwood merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Northwood University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

New freshmen, 2027-28

Keyed to high school GPA. The Presidential rung is marked limited-funds and is therefore shown but not promised; the assured ceiling is the Freedom Scholarship.

  • $17,000 per year

    Freedom Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $15,000 per year

    Free Enterprise Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $14,000 per year

    Entrepreneur Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $12,000 per year

    Independence Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,000 per year

    Constitution Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,500 per year

    Liberty Scholarship

    No score needed

Competitive awards — not automatic

Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

  • Presidential Scholarship — : $18,000 per year

Source: Undergraduate scholarships and grants — 2027-28 freshmen · verified 2026-10-24

Does Northwood superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and there is no published score threshold for a superscore to be read against.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Northwood’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Northwood University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The $18,000 Presidential rung is marked "limited funds available", so the highest assured award is the $17,000 Freedom Scholarship at a 3.75.
  • The assured ladder spans $9,500 a year, from $7,500 at a 2.50 to $17,000 at a 3.75.
  • The Presidential threshold of 4.01 implies a weighted GPA, though the page never says weighted or unweighted.
  • Northwood's page prints four-year totals as well, and the Freedom row's total is wrong: it shows $72,000, which is the Presidential figure, where $17,000 a year over four years is $68,000. The annual amounts are used here and no four-year total is asserted.
  • Renewal needs a cumulative 3.0, which is stricter than most grids in this dataset and is the same figure for every rung.
  • Northwood prints Freedom as a closed 3.75-to-4.00 range with the limited-funds Presidential above it. Freedom is modelled open at the top, because the assured award for a weighted 4.3 is Freedom — not nothing.
  • Older third-party copies of this grid showed separate on-campus and off-campus amounts. The current page publishes no residency split.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Northwood University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Northwood?

Northwood University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Northwood test-optional?

A test score is not required for admission to Northwood. For merit aid the answer is different: northwood says awards are based on GPA and ACT or SAT scores, but publishes no score threshold anywhere and routes students to its net price calculator for a figure. Every rung in the published table is keyed to GPA alone, so a score cannot be looked up against this grid even though it may affect the result. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Northwood?

On Northwood's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Free Enterprise Scholarship at $15,000 a year, about $60,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Northwood superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and there is no published score threshold for a superscore to be read against.

Is this Northwood scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Northwood University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Northwood awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Northwood is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Northwood University