Hope International University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleFullerton, CA

Hope International University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 19 and reach $19,300 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Both figures are "up to" amounts, and Hope International never says the awards are automatic — the page lists eligibility criteria only. Both rungs require a score as well as a GPA, with no published score-free route, and the university limits institutional grants and scholarships to one per student, so these do not stack. The aid page says "Academic GPA" without defining it, while the admissions page uses a weighted GPA.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Scholarship

Up to $19,300 a year, renewal GPA 3.25 / year

About $77,200 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Is Hope International test-optional?

For admission, largely yes. Admission needs two of three: a 2.5 weighted academic GPA, a 900 SAT or 19 ACT, or standing in the top half of the class — so a score is one route rather than a requirement.

For money, no. Both awards name a score alongside the GPA, and Hope International publishes no score-free route to either — so a student with no ACT reaches neither regardless of transcript. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.

The published Hope International merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Hope International University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman scholarships

Each award needs the GPA and a score together. The SAT substitutes for the ACT at 1100 and 900, counting maths and verbal only.

  • Up to $19,300 a year, renewal GPA 3.25

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 24–36 · 3.50+

  • Up to $18,000 a year, renewal GPA 2.5

    Dean's Scholarship

    ACT 19–36 · 2.75+

Source: Types of aid · verified 2026-10-24

Does Hope International superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With hard thresholds at 24 and 19, a student near one should ask whether the better composite is read.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Hope International’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Hope International University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 2.75 GPA with a 19 composite reaches up to $18,000 a year.
  • The Presidential award pays only $1,300 more than the Dean's, so the climb is worth far less than the floor.
  • Both awards require a score; neither has a published score-free route.
  • The SAT alternatives are 1100 and 900, counting maths and verbal only.
  • Both amounts are "up to" figures.
  • Only one institutional grant or scholarship is allowed per student, so these do not stack.
  • The renewal bar rises with the award — 3.25 against 2.5.
  • The aid page says "Academic GPA" without defining it; the admissions page uses a weighted GPA.
  • The AVID award, up to $17,000, requires three years in the AVID program, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Hope International University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Hope International?

Automatic merit aid at Hope International University starts at an ACT composite of 19, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $19,300 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Hope International test-optional?

Admission needs two of three: a 2.5 weighted academic GPA, a 900 SAT or 19 ACT, or standing in the top half of the class — so a score is one route rather than a requirement. For merit aid the answer is different: both awards name a score alongside the GPA, and Hope International publishes no score-free route to either — so a student with no ACT reaches neither regardless of transcript. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Hope International?

On Hope International's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Scholarship at $19,300 a year, about $77,200 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Hope International?

The most valuable single point on Hope International's published grid is 23 to 24, at a 3.5 GPA: it moves the award by $1,300 a year, or $5,200 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Hope International superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With hard thresholds at 24 and 19, a student near one should ask whether the better composite is read.

Is this Hope International scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Hope International University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Hope International. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Hope International University