University of Mary Hardin-Baylor: merit scholarships by ACT score
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to the ACT alone, with no GPA criterion. Awards start at an ACT of 24 and reach $19,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
No GPA is used at any band — a student qualifies on a test score OR a graduating class rank. The published amounts also assume living ON CAMPUS; an off-campus student receives $3,000 a year less. The score must be TAKEN by April 10 for a fall start, and UMHB will not consider retest scores after that date.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Vice President's Scholarship
$64,000 ($16,000/year) / year
About $64,000 over four years, if it renews.
What the next points are worth
2 more points (a 31) moves you to President's Scholarship — $76,000 ($19,000/year) a year. That is $3,000 more a year, or $12,000 over four years.
The question isn't whether 2 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UMHB merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Mary Hardin-Baylor’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman academic scholarships (living on campus)
Each band qualifies on any one of an ACT, SAT, CLT or graduating rank. Off-campus students receive $3,000 a year less, and only one academic scholarship is awarded per student.
$76,000 ($19,000/year)
President's Scholarship
ACT 31–36 · No GPA criterion — or top 5% rank, valedictorian or salutatorian
$64,000 ($16,000/year)
Vice President's Scholarship
ACT 28–30 · No GPA criterion — or top 10% rank
$44,000 ($11,000/year)
Dean's Scholarship
ACT 24–27 · No GPA criterion — or top 25% rank
$32,000 ($8,000/year)
Honor Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | ACT 31–36 · No GPA criterion — or top 5% rank, valedictorian or salutatorian | $76,000 ($19,000/year) |
| Vice President's Scholarship | ACT 28–30 · No GPA criterion — or top 10% rank | $64,000 ($16,000/year) |
| Dean's Scholarship | ACT 24–27 · No GPA criterion — or top 25% rank | $44,000 ($11,000/year) |
| Honor Scholarship | — | $32,000 ($8,000/year) |
Source: Freshman academic scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does UMHB superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. What UMHB does say is that retest scores will not be considered after the April 10 deadline, so the useful question for a student is the test DATE rather than whether sittings combine.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UMHB’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
UMHB scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| ACT, SAT or CLT must be taken by this date — fall entry | April 10 |
| ACT, SAT or CLT must be taken by this date — spring entry | November 6 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Mary Hardin-Baylor’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- No GPA is used at any band. A 4.0 with no score and no reported rank reaches nothing on this grid.
- The test must be TAKEN by April 10 for a fall start, and UMHB will not consider retest scores after that — so a summer retake cannot lift an award.
- Living off campus costs $3,000 a year at every band, which is more than the step between the two lowest bands.
- Class rank is an alternative to the score at every band — top 5%, 10%, 25% and 50% respectively — which this grid has no axis for.
- Only one academic scholarship is awarded per student.
- The renewal bar is a 2.0 GPA, far below what it takes to win the award.
- The Honor band's wording is ambiguous about whether regular admission alone qualifies or a top 50% rank is also required.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UMHB?
Automatic merit aid at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor starts at an ACT composite of 24, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $19,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is UMHB test-optional?
The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one route and a class rank is another, and either alone qualifies. What does NOT qualify is a GPA — UMHB uses none at any band, so a strong transcript without a score or a reported rank reaches nothing. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UMHB?
On UMHB's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Vice President's Scholarship at $16,000 a year, about $64,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at UMHB?
The most valuable single point on UMHB's published grid is 27 to 28, at a GPA of no gpa criterion — or top 10% rank: it moves the award by $5,000 a year, or $20,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does UMHB superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. What UMHB does say is that retest scores will not be considered after the April 10 deadline, so the useful question for a student is the test DATE rather than whether sittings combine.
When are UMHB scholarship deadlines?
ACT, SAT or CLT must be taken by this date — fall entry: April 10. ACT, SAT or CLT must be taken by this date — spring entry: November 6. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this UMHB scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Mary Hardin-Baylor's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at UMHB. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Mary Hardin-Baylor