Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 20262026-27 entryCorpus Christi, TX

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 24 and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Each award has a CLASS RANK route this grid cannot model — top 10%, 25% or 50% — so a student who clears the GPA but neither the rank nor the score may still qualify. The GPA is WEIGHTED. A FAFSA is required, and non-residents qualify only if funds are available. The admission application must arrive by February 1 to count as the scholarship application.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Islander Scholarship (score route)

$1,500 a year / year

About $6,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published TAMU-CC merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Institutional scholarships

Every tier needs its weighted GPA band plus EITHER a class rank or a test score. The admission application doubles as the scholarship application if it arrives by February 1.

  • $4,000 a year

    Presidential Scholarship (class rank route)

    No score needed

  • $4,000 a year

    Presidential Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 28–36 · 3.95+ weighted

  • $3,000 a year

    Achieve Scholarship (class rank route)

    No score needed

  • $3,000 a year

    Achieve Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 26–36 · 3.75–3.94 weighted

  • $1,500 a year

    Islander Scholarship (class rank route)

    No score needed

  • $1,500 a year

    Islander Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 24–36 · 3.25–3.74 weighted

Source: Incoming freshmen scholarships — 2026-27 institutional awards · verified 2026-10-24

Does TAMU-CC superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. TAMU-CC publishes ACT minimums but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask TAMU-CC’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

TAMU-CC scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority deadlineOctober 1
Final deadline — admission application and transcriptsFebruary 1
FAFSAMarch 1 annually

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A score substitutes for class rank rather than raising the award. Both routes to a tier pay the same.
  • That makes the score most useful to a student with a strong GPA at a competitive high school, where the rank route may be out of reach.
  • The GPA is weighted, and its windows are printed as closed ranges. The top band is modelled open, because as printed a weighted GPA above 4.00 would clear no band and be paid nothing.
  • The ACT thresholds are printed as minimums, so they run to 36.
  • The class-rank routes are the top 10%, 25% and 50%. Rank is not an axis this grid can check.
  • TAMU-CC also prints a four-year total alongside each annual figure.
  • Non-residents qualify only if funds are available, which residents' entries do not say.
  • The Lichtenstein award pays $12,750 a year at a 32 ACT with a top-7% rank, but it is a separate endowed award whose basis is unclear, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at TAMU-CC?

Automatic merit aid at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi starts at an ACT composite of 24, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $4,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is TAMU-CC test-optional?

Scores are optional for first-time freshmen. TAMU-CC uses class rank combined with GPA instead for applicants who do not submit one. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is an alternative to class rank, not to the GPA — every tier requires its weighted GPA band either way. So a score does not raise the award; it substitutes for a rank a student may not have, which matters most to a strong student at a strong high school. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at TAMU-CC?

On TAMU-CC's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Islander Scholarship (score route) at $1,500 a year, about $6,000 over four years if it renews.

Does TAMU-CC superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. TAMU-CC publishes ACT minimums but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.

When are TAMU-CC scholarship deadlines?

Priority deadline: October 1. Final deadline — admission application and transcripts: February 1. FAFSA: March 1 annually. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this TAMU-CC scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at TAMU-CC. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi