Davenport University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritGrand Rapids, MI

Davenport University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $10,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Davenport shows both a 2026-27 and a 2027-28 grid on the same page, and an Achievement Scholarship of $6,500 overlaps the $7,000 Momentum Scholarship on the identical 3.00–3.49 range — one of the two belongs to the other year. The 2027-28 figures are modelled here; confirm which year you are being quoted. All awards assume full-time enrolment.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Distinction Scholarship

$9,000 a year / year

About $36,000 over four years, if it renews.

Davenport awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Davenport’s mlk inherit the dream scholarship is December 1, 2026 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Davenport merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Davenport University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Incoming freshmen

Keyed to high school GPA, and Davenport states the best qualifying option is the one awarded. The bottom rung has no floor.

  • $10,000 a year

    Executive Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,000 a year

    Distinction Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,000 a year

    Momentum Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,000 a year

    Impact Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $5,000 a year

    Signature Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships — incoming freshman grid · verified 2026-10-24

Does Davenport superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for this ladder, which reads no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Davenport’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Davenport scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
University President Scholarship (application required)March 1, 2027
MLK Inherit the Dream ScholarshipDecember 1, 2026

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Davenport University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Every admitted student reaches a rung — the Signature Scholarship has no GPA floor.
  • The whole ladder spans $5,000 a year, from $5,000 to $10,000.
  • Davenport states plainly that the best qualifying option is the one awarded.
  • An Achievement Scholarship of $6,500 also appears for a 3.00–3.49 GPA, overlapping the $7,000 Momentum award on the same range. The two belong to different year tabs.
  • The ACT appears only on the President Scholarship, which needs an application and is therefore not a band.
  • All awards are based on full-time enrolment.
  • The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Davenport University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Davenport?

Davenport University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Davenport test-optional?

The scholarships page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every rung of the tiered grid is keyed to GPA. An ACT appears only in the criteria for the President Scholarship, which requires an application, so a score cannot move this ladder. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Davenport?

On Davenport's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Distinction Scholarship at $9,000 a year, about $36,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Davenport superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for this ladder, which reads no test score.

When are Davenport scholarship deadlines?

University President Scholarship (application required): March 1, 2027. MLK Inherit the Dream Scholarship: December 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Davenport scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Davenport University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Davenport awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Davenport is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Davenport University