Hawai'i Pacific University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2027 entryACT not used for meritHonolulu, HI

Hawai'i Pacific University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $15,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This guarantee is only for seniors attending a HAWAI'I high school — a mainland applicant gets no figure from it. There is a single threshold and a single amount, so a 4.0 and a 2.8 are paid identically. HPU publishes other merit awards whose criteria and test policy it does not state, so this entry covers the guarantee alone, and the renewal GPA is not published.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Guaranteed Scholarship

$15,000 a year, guaranteed / year

About $60,000 over four years, if it renews.

Hawai'i Pacific awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Hawai'i Pacific merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Hawai'i Pacific University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Hawai'i high school seniors

A guaranteed award with one threshold and one amount, restricted to seniors attending a Hawai'i high school.

  • $15,000 a year, guaranteed

    Guaranteed Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Guaranteed Scholarship and Admission Program · verified 2026-10-24

Does Hawai'i Pacific superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for the guarantee, which reads no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Hawai'i Pacific’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Hawai'i Pacific University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The guarantee is restricted to seniors attending a Hawai'i high school; a mainland applicant gets nothing from this page.
  • A 2.75 is a modest bar for a guaranteed $15,000 a year.
  • There is no tier above it, so a 4.0 and a 2.8 are paid identically.
  • No test score affects the guarantee.
  • The award runs up to eight consecutive semesters, but HPU does not publish the renewal GPA.
  • HPU publishes other merit awards elsewhere whose criteria it does not state, so this entry deliberately covers only the guarantee.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Hawai'i Pacific University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Hawai'i Pacific?

Hawai'i Pacific University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Hawai'i Pacific test-optional?

HPU does not state a testing requirement on the guarantee page, so nothing is claimed about admission here. For merit aid the answer is different: the guarantee is keyed to GPA alone and names no test, so a score cannot affect it. Because there is only one threshold, a score and a higher GPA are equally irrelevant once the 2.75 is cleared. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Hawai'i Pacific?

On Hawai'i Pacific's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Guaranteed Scholarship at $15,000 a year, about $60,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Hawai'i Pacific superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for the guarantee, which reads no test score.

Is this Hawai'i Pacific scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Hawai'i Pacific University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Hawai'i Pacific awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Hawai'i Pacific is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Hawai'i Pacific University