Tougaloo College: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedTougaloo, MS

Tougaloo College publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach Half tuition. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Tougaloo publishes the GPA and ACT thresholds for both awards, but no official page says meeting them guarantees the money, and an older Tougaloo scholarship application required two letters of recommendation and a FAFSA. Treat these as the published criteria for a reviewed award rather than an assured grid.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Academic Scholarship

Full tuition plus room and board

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Tougaloo’s spring is December 16. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Tougaloo merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Tougaloo College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman academic scholarships

GPA and test score are listed as separate columns and read here as both being required. Each award needs a signed renewal contract.

  • Full tuition plus room and board

    Presidential Academic Scholarship

    ACT 27–36 · 3.50+

  • Half tuition

    Servant Leader Academic Scholarship

    ACT 21–36 · 3.00+

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does Tougaloo superscore for scholarships?

Not stated on either page, so a student with scores from two sittings should ask before assuming the better composite is the one read.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Tougaloo’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Tougaloo scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
FallMarch 15
SpringDecember 16

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Tougaloo College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Both awards are benefits rather than dollar figures, so they track Tougaloo's published cost instead of a frozen number.
  • The jump from the 21 to the 27 threshold is the difference between half tuition and tuition plus room and board — the largest single step in Mississippi in this dataset.
  • Renewal needs 15 or more hours a term, which is above the 12 that normally counts as full-time.
  • No official page states whether the GPA is weighted.
  • The Eagle Academic award — full tuition at a 3.25 for a valedictorian or salutatorian — turns on class rank rather than a score, so it is not a band here.
  • Athletic and music awards are stated to be given at the college's discretion.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Tougaloo College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Tougaloo?

Automatic merit aid at Tougaloo College starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches half tuition at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Tougaloo test-optional?

Tougaloo still requires a score to apply, which is now unusual — most of this dataset's private colleges do not. For merit aid the answer is different: both awards print an ACT floor alongside the GPA, and Tougaloo publishes no score-free route to either one. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Tougaloo superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated on either page, so a student with scores from two sittings should ask before assuming the better composite is the one read.

When are Tougaloo scholarship deadlines?

Fall: March 15. Spring: December 16. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Tougaloo scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Tougaloo College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Tougaloo. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Tougaloo College