Indiana Wesleyan University: merit scholarships by GPA
Indiana Wesleyan University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $17,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
IWU's catalog describes these awards as based on test scores and GPA, while the scholarship page keys all four to GPA alone and no score threshold is published anywhere. The grid here is the published GPA ladder, and the figures are the 2026-27 award levels. Marion campus students only.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Faculty Scholarship
$10,000 a year / year
About $40,000 over four years, if it renews.
IWU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published IWU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Indiana Wesleyan University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic scholarships
Keyed to high school GPA, which IWU fixes at the point of admission rather than re-reading later.
$17,000 a year
President's Scholarship
No score needed
$14,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$10,000 a year
Faculty Scholarship
No score needed
$8,000 a year
Trustee Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | — | $17,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $14,000 a year |
| Faculty Scholarship | — | $10,000 a year |
| Trustee Scholarship | — | $8,000 a year |
Source: Academic scholarships — award levels · verified 2026-10-24
Does IWU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and there is no published score threshold for a superscore to be read against.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask IWU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Indiana Wesleyan University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Academic scholarships — award levelsverified 2026-10-24
- 2026-27 catalog — scholarships and grantsverified 2026-10-24
- Campus admissions — test policyverified 2026-10-24
- GPA is fixed at the point of admission, so a stronger senior-year transcript does not raise the rung later.
- Below a 3.00 GPA no named rung applies. The catalog lists a $3,000 Recognition Award with no criteria, which may cover that range, but nothing published confirms it.
- A National Merit award of $18,000 a year sits above the whole ladder and is earned through the College Board rather than at any GPA, so it is not a band here.
- The catalog's description of the awards as based on test scores and GPA conflicts with the scholarship page, which uses GPA alone. No score threshold is published on either.
- These awards are for Marion campus students.
- IWU says each student is also "considered individually for additional scholarships", so stacking is possible.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at IWU?
Indiana Wesleyan University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is IWU test-optional?
IWU encourages students to submit scores and notes they help with course placement, but publishes no explicit test-optional statement, so the admission requirement is not claimed here. For merit aid the answer is different: the scholarship page keys every award to GPA. The catalog says the awards reflect test scores as well as GPA, but no score threshold is published on either page, so whether a score moves the money cannot be answered from what IWU publishes. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at IWU?
On IWU's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Faculty Scholarship at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews.
Does IWU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and there is no published score threshold for a superscore to be read against.
Is this IWU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Indiana Wesleyan University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
IWU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though IWU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University