Glenville State University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Glenville State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Glenville prints the GPA rows as single values — 3.0, 3.1, 3.2 — with no ranges and no rounding rule; each is read here as running up to the next row, which is the only reading that makes the table continuous. The grid page does not say the amounts are annual, though renewal is described per academic year, and no residency split is published. A student with no score is capped at $750 to $1,500 rather than placed on the grid.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
GSU Merit Scholarship
$3,000 a year / year
About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.
What the next points are worth
6 more points (a 35) moves you to GSU Merit Scholarship — $4,000 a year a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.
The question isn't whether 6 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Glenville State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Glenville State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
GSU Merit Scholarship grid
A single ACT-by-GPA table. Nothing is published below a 20 composite or below a 3.0 GPA.
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–28 · 3.00–3.09
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 29–34 · 3.00–3.09
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 35–36 · 3.00–3.09
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–27 · 3.10–3.19
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 28–33 · 3.10–3.19
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 34–36 · 3.10–3.19
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–26 · 3.20–3.29
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 27–32 · 3.20–3.29
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 33–36 · 3.20–3.29
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–25 · 3.30–3.39
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 26–31 · 3.30–3.39
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 32–36 · 3.30–3.39
Show the other 24 published rows
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–24 · 3.40–3.49
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 25–30 · 3.40–3.49
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 31–36 · 3.40–3.49
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–23 · 3.50–3.59
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 24–29 · 3.50–3.59
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 30–36 · 3.50–3.59
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–22 · 3.60–3.69
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 23–28 · 3.60–3.69
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 29–34 · 3.60–3.69
$4,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 35–36 · 3.60–3.69
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–21 · 3.70–3.79
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 22–27 · 3.70–3.79
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 28–33 · 3.70–3.79
$4,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 34–36 · 3.70–3.79
$1,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20 · 3.80–3.89
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 21–26 · 3.80–3.89
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 27–32 · 3.80–3.89
$4,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 33–36 · 3.80–3.89
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–25 · 3.90–3.99
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 26–31 · 3.90–3.99
$4,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 32–36 · 3.90–3.99
$2,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 20–24 · 4.00+
$3,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 25–30 · 4.00+
$4,000 a year
GSU Merit Scholarship
ACT 31–36 · 4.00+
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–28 · 3.00–3.09 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 29–34 · 3.00–3.09 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 35–36 · 3.00–3.09 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–27 · 3.10–3.19 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 28–33 · 3.10–3.19 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 34–36 · 3.10–3.19 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–26 · 3.20–3.29 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 27–32 · 3.20–3.29 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 33–36 · 3.20–3.29 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–25 · 3.30–3.39 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 26–31 · 3.30–3.39 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 32–36 · 3.30–3.39 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–24 · 3.40–3.49 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 25–30 · 3.40–3.49 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 31–36 · 3.40–3.49 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–23 · 3.50–3.59 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 24–29 · 3.50–3.59 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 30–36 · 3.50–3.59 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–22 · 3.60–3.69 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 23–28 · 3.60–3.69 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 29–34 · 3.60–3.69 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 35–36 · 3.60–3.69 | $4,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–21 · 3.70–3.79 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 22–27 · 3.70–3.79 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 28–33 · 3.70–3.79 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 34–36 · 3.70–3.79 | $4,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20 · 3.80–3.89 | $1,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 21–26 · 3.80–3.89 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 27–32 · 3.80–3.89 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 33–36 · 3.80–3.89 | $4,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–25 · 3.90–3.99 | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 26–31 · 3.90–3.99 | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 32–36 · 3.90–3.99 | $4,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 20–24 · 4.00+ | $2,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 25–30 · 4.00+ | $3,000 a year |
| GSU Merit Scholarship | ACT 31–36 · 4.00+ | $4,000 a year |
Source: GSU merit grid · verified 2026-10-24
Does Glenville State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. On a grid this responsive to the score, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is read.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Glenville State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Glenville State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- GSU merit gridverified 2026-10-24
- Institutional scholarshipsverified 2026-10-24
- Admission requirementsverified 2026-10-24
- This is a true ACT-by-GPA matrix: a dollar figure in every cell, which almost no school in this dataset publishes.
- At a 3.5 the award runs $1,000 at a 20 and $3,000 at a 30 — the ACT is worth $2,000 a year on an unchanged transcript.
- At a 25 the award runs $1,000 at a 3.0 and $3,000 at a 4.0, so the test reaches in one sitting what grades take four years to reach.
- The $4,000 top cell appears only from a 3.6 upward.
- Nothing is published below a 20 composite or below a 3.0 GPA.
- Without a score the award is capped at $750 to $1,500 regardless of GPA.
- Renewal needs a 3.0 and 30 credit hours a year, plus a zero balance each term.
- The $3,000 HomeGrown award is limited to West Virginia public school graduates in high-need education majors and needs a recommendation, so it is not a band here.
- Honors Program money at a 3.7 needs an application, and the $500 Blue & White award needs a campus visit.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Glenville State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Glenville State?
Automatic merit aid at Glenville State University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $4,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Glenville State test-optional?
A score is required for applicants who graduated within the last five years unless the GPA is a 3.0 or above, which is its own route in. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is not required, but skipping it caps the award near a third of what the grid pays: a 4.0 with no score tops out at $1,500 where a 4.0 with a 31 reaches $4,000. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Glenville State?
On Glenville State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for GSU Merit Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Glenville State?
The most valuable single point on Glenville State's published grid is 28 to 29, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Glenville State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. On a grid this responsive to the score, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is read.
Is this Glenville State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Glenville State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Glenville State. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Glenville State University