State University of New York at Fredonia: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2026 entryACT not used for meritFredonia, NY

State University of New York at Fredonia awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 80.0 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

All three awards require living in a university residence hall or townhouse, so moving off campus ends the award rather than reducing it. The thresholds are weighted high school averages on New York's 100-point scale, read at the time of acceptance. A FAFSA each year — plus TAP for New York residents — is a renewal condition.

29
3.6

Out of 100, the way New York high schools report it — which is how this school publishes its grid.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

No automatic award at this combination

A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.

SUNY Fredonia awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
SUNY Fredonia’s spring is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
See where a 29 IS worth money →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published SUNY Fredonia merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from State University of New York at Fredonia’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year scholarships and awards

No separate application — qualified students are considered automatically against pre-established criteria. Renewable for four years, and every award requires campus housing.

  • $5,000 a year, renewal GPA 3.0

    President's Award of Excellence

    No score needed

  • $4,000 a year, renewal GPA 2.8

    Fredonia Scholar Award

    No score needed

  • $2,000 a year, renewal GPA 2.8

    True Blue Scholar Award

    No score needed

Source: First-year scholarship opportunities · verified 2026-10-24

Does SUNY Fredonia superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SUNY Fredonia’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

SUNY Fredonia scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
FallMay 1
SpringDecember 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Fredonia’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The thresholds are weighted high school averages out of 100, not 4.0 GPAs.
  • The 89-to-90 step is worth $2,000 a year, $8,000 across four.
  • The 94-to-95 step is worth another $1,000 a year.
  • The ladder opens at an 80, low enough that most admitted students land on it.
  • All three awards require living in a university residence hall or townhouse.
  • The average is read at the time of acceptance, so senior-spring grades come too late.
  • No award reads an ACT score.
  • A FAFSA each year is a renewal condition, as is TAP for New York residents.
  • A search-engine copy of this page showed $6,000, $4,500 and $2,500; the live page says $5,000, $4,000 and $2,000, which is what is carried here.
  • The $1,500 Honors Program scholarship depends on admission to the Honors program, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with State University of New York at Fredonia.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SUNY Fredonia?

State University of New York at Fredonia publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is SUNY Fredonia test-optional?

Fredonia has been test-optional since 2020, though some education and mathematics-education programs still require a score for admission to the program itself. For merit aid the answer is different: the grid reads the weighted high school average alone. A student with no ACT reaches the $5,000 top award at a 95 exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does SUNY Fredonia superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.

When are SUNY Fredonia scholarship deadlines?

Fall: May 1. Spring: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this SUNY Fredonia scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Fredonia's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

SUNY Fredonia awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though SUNY Fredonia is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with State University of New York at Fredonia