Maryville University of Saint Louis: merit scholarships by ACT score
Maryville University of Saint Louis awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $14,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
The three awards here are the automatic ones. Maryville's larger scholarships — Presidential, Trustee and Keith Lovin — use similar or identical criteria but are competitive and need a separate application, so they are not on this grid. Awards are for first-time, full-time, on-campus freshmen; December 1 is a priority date.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Saints Scholarship (score route)
$14,000 a year / year
About $56,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Maryville University merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Maryville University of Saint Louis’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Automatic scholarships
Each award is reachable on a GPA floor or on a score floor. The tiers overlap, and a student receives the best one they clear.
$14,000 a year
Saints Scholarship
No score needed
$14,000 a year
Saints Scholarship (score route)
ACT 27–36 · any GPA
$11,000 a year
Big Red Scholarship
No score needed
$11,000 a year
Big Red Scholarship (score route)
ACT 24–36 · any GPA
$9,000 a year
Maryville Opportunity Award
No score needed
$9,000 a year
Maryville Opportunity Award (score route)
ACT 22–36 · any GPA
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Saints Scholarship | — | $14,000 a year |
| Saints Scholarship (score route) | ACT 27–36 · any GPA | $14,000 a year |
| Big Red Scholarship | — | $11,000 a year |
| Big Red Scholarship (score route) | ACT 24–36 · any GPA | $11,000 a year |
| Maryville Opportunity Award | — | $9,000 a year |
| Maryville Opportunity Award (score route) | ACT 22–36 · any GPA | $9,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships — automatic awards · verified 2026-10-24
Does Maryville University superscore for scholarships?
Not stated on any Maryville page read for this entry. A student planning a retake should confirm in writing which composite the scholarship thresholds are read against.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Maryville University’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Maryville University scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority date for the automatic scholarships | December 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Maryville University of Saint Louis’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The criteria are alternatives, and the score route is the one that helps a weaker transcript: a 27 pays $14,000 at any GPA.
- Every threshold is published as a minimum, so the bands are floors and a 36 receives the top award rather than a middle one.
- The Presidential award (full tuition, room and board) and the Trustee award (full tuition) use a 3.75 GPA or a 27 ACT — the same ballpark as the automatic Saints Scholarship — but are competitive, fall-entry only and need an application.
- The Keith Lovin award is published as "up to full tuition", which is an open-ended figure rather than a promise.
- Maryville states it does not use the writing section of the ACT or SAT when considering scholarships.
- Awards are for first-time, full-time, on-campus freshmen, which may exclude fully online students.
- December 1 is labelled a priority date rather than a hard deadline, so it is unclear whether a later application forfeits the award.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Maryville University of Saint Louis.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Maryville University?
Automatic merit aid at Maryville University of Saint Louis starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $14,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Maryville University test-optional?
Maryville does not require a test score to apply, with narrow exceptions — NCAA athletes and students from schools that issue narrative evaluations must submit scores. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is an alternative route to every automatic award, so it can only help. A 2.6 GPA with a 27 reaches the top $14,000 tier that a GPA route needs a 3.5 for. Maryville does not use the ACT or SAT writing section for scholarships. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Maryville University?
On Maryville University's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Saints Scholarship (score route) at $14,000 a year, about $56,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Maryville University?
The most valuable single point on Maryville University's published grid is 26 to 27, on the row where it is largest: it moves the award by $3,000 a year, or $12,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Maryville University superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated on any Maryville page read for this entry. A student planning a retake should confirm in writing which composite the scholarship thresholds are read against.
When are Maryville University scholarship deadlines?
Priority date for the automatic scholarships: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Maryville University scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Maryville University of Saint Louis's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Maryville University. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Maryville University of Saint Louis