University of Michigan-Dearborn: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 25, 20262025-26 entry · prior cycleACT not used for meritDearborn, MI

University of Michigan-Dearborn awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $12,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

UM-Dearborn's scholarship pages refuse automated requests, and the non-resident chart is titled for 2025-2026, so these amounts may be a cycle behind. The two lowest non-resident rungs were reported by a third party rather than read on the page. The in-state Distinction floor is reported inconsistently — 3.00 to 3.24 in one place, "3.24 or lower" in another — and is read here as the stricter 3.00 floor. In-state eligibility requires Michigan residency as defined by the Board of Regents. How these awards interact with the Go Blue Guarantee is not published.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Dearborn Scholars Award

$4,000 a year — $16,000 over 8 semesters / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

UM-Dearborn awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UM-Dearborn merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Michigan-Dearborn’s own pages for 2025-26 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Michigan residents

Read on the high school GPA, with no separate application. Residency is as defined by the Board of Regents.

  • $5,000 a year — $20,000 over 8 semesters

    Dean's Award

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $4,000 a year — $16,000 over 8 semesters

    Dearborn Scholars Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • $3,000 a year — $12,000 over 8 semesters

    Award of Distinction

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: First-year in-state scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Non-residents

A separate and more generous grid, read on the same high school GPA.

  • $12,500 a year — $50,000 over 8 semesters

    Non-Resident Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $10,000 a year — $40,000 over 8 semesters

    Non-Resident Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $7,500 a year — $30,000 over 8 semesters

    Non-Resident Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • $5,000 a year — $20,000 over 8 semesters

    Non-Resident Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Non-resident scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does UM-Dearborn superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and neither grid reads a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UM-Dearborn’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Michigan-Dearborn’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 4.00 is worth $5,000 a year in state and $12,500 out of state.
  • At a 3.00 it is $3,000 in state against $5,000 out of state.
  • The non-resident grid has four rungs; the in-state grid has three.
  • A non-resident gains $2,500 a year at a 3.50, where an in-state student gains nothing between a 3.25 and a 4.00.
  • Neither grid reads an ACT score.
  • The amounts are published alongside eight-semester totals.
  • The non-resident chart is titled for 2025-2026 and may be a cycle behind.
  • The two lowest non-resident rungs were reported by a third party rather than read on the page.
  • The in-state Distinction floor is reported inconsistently and is read here as the stricter 3.00.
  • The Chancellor's Scholarship covers 100% of tuition but is competitive and tied to the Honors programme.
  • How these awards interact with the Go Blue Guarantee is not published.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UM-Dearborn?

University of Michigan-Dearborn publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UM-Dearborn test-optional?

UM-Dearborn's admission pages refuse automated requests, so the admission test policy is not quoted here. For merit aid the answer is different: both published grids run on the high school GPA alone; no score appears in either. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UM-Dearborn?

On UM-Dearborn's published grid for 2025-26 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Michigan residents — Dearborn Scholars Award at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Non-Resident Scholarship at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at UM-Dearborn?

Yes. UM-Dearborn publishes separate grids: Michigan residents run $3,000 to $5,000 a year, and Non-residents run $5,000 to $12,500 — a difference of $7,500 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does UM-Dearborn superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and neither grid reads a score.

Is this UM-Dearborn scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Michigan-Dearborn's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UM-Dearborn awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UM-Dearborn is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Michigan-Dearborn