West Liberty University: merit scholarships by ACT score
West Liberty University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $12,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Only the top two rungs split by residency; Foundation, Black & Gold and Hilltopper Access print one amount for everyone. West Liberty also does not say whether these awards stack or whether only the highest applies, and several rungs overlap — a 3.75 with a 27 qualifies for four of them at once. The renewal GPA is given as "typically 3.25", which is not a stated rule.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Black & Gold Scholarship
$1,000 a year / year
About $4,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at West Liberty without an ACT score?
Yes. Four of the five rungs require a score. The only score-free route is the $500 Hilltopper Access award, so a student without an ACT gives up as much as $11,500 a year out of state.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“Minimum 3.25 GPA / No ACT/SAT required / Annual Award: $500”
The published West Liberty merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from West Liberty University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
West Virginia residents
Automatic consideration with the admission application. The lowest rung is the only one that needs no score.
$4,000 a year
Elbin Scholarship
ACT 27–36 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$3,000 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 24–26 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$2,000 a year
Foundation Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$1,000 a year
Black & Gold Scholarship
ACT 22–36 · 3.50+
Without a score: not available
$500 a year
Hilltopper Access Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.25
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elbin Scholarship | ACT 27–36 · 3.75+ | not available | $4,000 a year |
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 24–26 · 3.75+ | not available | $3,000 a year |
| Foundation Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.75+ | not available | $2,000 a year |
| Black & Gold Scholarship | ACT 22–36 · 3.50+ | not available | $1,000 a year |
| Hilltopper Access Scholarship | — | GPA 3.25 | $500 a year |
Source: WLU scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
The Elbin and Presidential awards triple out of state; the three smaller awards do not change.
$12,000 a year
Elbin Scholarship
ACT 27–36 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$7,500 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 24–26 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$2,000 a year
Foundation Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.75+
Without a score: not available
$1,000 a year
Black & Gold Scholarship
ACT 22–36 · 3.50+
Without a score: not available
$500 a year
Hilltopper Access Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.25
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elbin Scholarship | ACT 27–36 · 3.75+ | not available | $12,000 a year |
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 24–26 · 3.75+ | not available | $7,500 a year |
| Foundation Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.75+ | not available | $2,000 a year |
| Black & Gold Scholarship | ACT 22–36 · 3.50+ | not available | $1,000 a year |
| Hilltopper Access Scholarship | — | GPA 3.25 | $500 a year |
Source: WLU scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does West Liberty superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. With a 27 marking the jump to the top rung, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is read.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask West Liberty’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
West Liberty scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Hilltopper Access — admission application | March 1 |
| Foundation-funded awards needing an application | June 1, 2026 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from West Liberty University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The top rung pays $4,000 a year in state and $12,000 out of state.
- The 26-to-27 step is worth $1,000 in state and $4,500 out of state.
- A 3.75 GPA is the gate for the three largest awards.
- Without a score the only route is the $500 Hilltopper Access award at a 3.25.
- Each rung also has an SAT alternative: 1290+, 1160–1280, 1100–1150 and 1100+.
- Several rungs overlap, and West Liberty does not say whether they stack or only the highest applies.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
- The PROMISE Plus award cannot be combined with another institutional scholarship of $1,000 or more.
- Silver Bears, Grim Memorial and Sibling awards need a separate June 1 application, so they are not bands here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with West Liberty University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at West Liberty?
Automatic merit aid at West Liberty University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $12,000 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is West Liberty test-optional?
No official West Liberty page states the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here — third-party sites call it test-optional. For merit aid the answer is different: four of the five rungs require a score. The only score-free route is the $500 Hilltopper Access award, so a student without an ACT gives up as much as $11,500 a year out of state. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at West Liberty?
On West Liberty's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for West Virginia residents — Black & Gold Scholarship at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Black & Gold Scholarship at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at West Liberty?
The most valuable single point on West Liberty's published grid is 23 to 24, at a 3.75 GPA: it moves the award by $5,500 a year, or $22,000 across a four-year degree on the Non-residents grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at West Liberty?
Yes. West Liberty publishes separate grids: West Virginia residents run $500 to $4,000 a year, and Non-residents run $500 to $12,000 — a difference of $8,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does West Liberty superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. With a 27 marking the jump to the top rung, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is read.
When are West Liberty scholarship deadlines?
Hilltopper Access — admission application: March 1. Foundation-funded awards needing an application: June 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this West Liberty scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from West Liberty University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at West Liberty. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with West Liberty University