Spalding University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Spalding University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 18 and reach $16,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Spalding's base award runs on the GPA alone, and a separate TEST AWARD pays the ACT composite multiplied by $100 on top of it — an 18 is $1,800, a 30 is $3,000. That is the only linear score award in this dataset: every other school pays in steps where a point inside a band is worth nothing, and here every point is worth exactly $100 a year. It also means the score is worth far less at Spalding than at a grid school, where one point can be worth thousands. The Test Award needs at least an 18 ACT. Spalding dates this to students entering in the fall of 2026 with fewer than 24 attempted credit hours.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Scholarship
$15,000 / year
About $60,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at Spalding without an ACT score?
Yes. Optional and additive. The GPA-keyed base award requires no score at all, and a score of 18 or more adds its own value on top at $100 a point.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“Students with at least an 18 ACT composite score (or an equivalent SAT score) receive their score X $100”
The published Spalding merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Spalding University’s own pages for fall of 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Base academic award, by GPA
The GPA-keyed base. Spalding's Test Award, worth the ACT composite times $100 for anyone with at least an 18, stacks on top of whichever band applies.
$16,000
Trustee Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 4.00
$15,000
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$13,000
Nazareth Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$10,000
Blue and Gold Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 2.50
$7,000
Soaring Eagle Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 1.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trustee Scholarship | — | GPA 4.00 | $16,000 |
| Presidential Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $15,000 |
| Nazareth Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $13,000 |
| Blue and Gold Scholarship | — | GPA 2.50 | $10,000 |
| Soaring Eagle Scholarship | — | GPA 1.00 | $7,000 |
Source: Undergraduate Academic Scholarships and Test Award · verified 2026-10-22
Test Award — the composite times $100
Stacks on the base award. Spalding pays the ACT composite multiplied by $100 to any student scoring at least an 18, with no bands — so every point is worth $100 a year and none of them are worth more than that.
$1,800+ — the ACT composite multiplied by $100
Test Award
ACT 18–36 · At least an 18 ACT composite — no GPA criterion on this award
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Test Award | ACT 18–36 · At least an 18 ACT composite — no GPA criterion on this award | $1,800+ — the ACT composite multiplied by $100 |
Source: Undergraduate Academic Scholarships and Test Award · verified 2026-10-22
Does Spalding superscore for scholarships?
Not stated — which matters more here than almost anywhere, because every single point is worth $100 a year rather than only the points that cross a band boundary.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Spalding’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Spalding University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The Test Award is linear: the ACT composite times $100, with no bands and no cliffs.
- That makes one ACT point worth exactly $100 a year here — the clearest and smallest answer in this dataset.
- The base award is GPA-only and reaches down to a 2.49, so no score is needed for the bulk of the money.
- A 36 earns $3,600 from the Test Award, less than the gap between two adjacent bands at most grid schools.
- Spalding dates this to students entering in the fall of 2026 with fewer than 24 attempted credit hours.
- Spalding is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Spalding University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Spalding?
Automatic merit aid at Spalding University starts at an ACT composite of 18, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $16,000 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Spalding test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. The base award needs no score; the Test Award needs at least an 18. For merit aid the answer is different: optional and additive. The GPA-keyed base award requires no score at all, and a score of 18 or more adds its own value on top at $100 a point. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Spalding?
On Spalding's published grid for fall of 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Base academic award, by GPA — Presidential Scholarship at $15,000 a year, about $60,000 over four years if it renews; Test Award — the composite times $100 — Test Award at $1,800 a year, about $7,200 over four years if it renews.
Does Spalding superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated — which matters more here than almost anywhere, because every single point is worth $100 a year rather than only the points that cross a band boundary.
Is this Spalding scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Spalding University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Spalding. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Spalding University