Minot State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Minot State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $2,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Keyed to the official UNWEIGHTED high school GPA, not the weighted figure most transcripts show. The amounts are published as four-year totals with the annual figure beside them.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Academic Excellence Scholarship
$5,000 — $1,250/year for a maximum of 4 years / year
About $5,000 over four years, if it renews.
Minot State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Minot State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Minot State University’s own pages for Summer 2024 and later entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No separate application — admission to Minot State is the whole process.
$10,000 — $2,500/year for a maximum of 4 years
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No score needed
$7,500 — $1,875/year for a maximum of 4 years
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No score needed
$5,000 — $1,250/year for a maximum of 4 years
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No score needed
$2,500 — $625/year for a maximum of 4 years
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | — | $10,000 — $2,500/year for a maximum of 4 years |
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | — | $7,500 — $1,875/year for a maximum of 4 years |
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | — | $5,000 — $1,250/year for a maximum of 4 years |
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | — | $2,500 — $625/year for a maximum of 4 years |
Source: Academic Excellence Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24
Does Minot State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Minot State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Minot State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Full admission acceptance to Minot State — fall applicants | February 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Minot State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Amounts are published as four-year totals — $10,000, $7,500, $5,000 and $2,500 — with the annual figure beside each.
- The GPA is the official UNWEIGHTED high school GPA, so a weighted transcript figure will place a student too high.
- The last tenth of a point before a 3.90 is worth $625 a year, which is the entire value of the bottom rung.
- No separate scholarship application — admission by the February 15 deadline is the whole process.
- Renewal needs a 3.0 cumulative GPA and 24 Minot State credits a year, which is above the twelve-hours-a-semester floor many grids use.
- Nothing is paid below a 3.00 unweighted GPA.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Minot State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Minot State?
Minot State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Minot State test-optional?
The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: the award is keyed to the official unweighted high school GPA alone. No rung names a test score, so an ACT cannot move this money. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Minot State?
On Minot State's published grid for Summer 2024 and later entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Academic Excellence Scholarship at $1,250 a year, about $5,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Minot State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.
When are Minot State scholarship deadlines?
Full admission acceptance to Minot State — fall applicants: February 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Minot State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Minot State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Minot State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Minot State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Minot State University