University of Wisconsin-Superior: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritSuperior, WI

University of Wisconsin-Superior awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $7,900 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This waiver is only for students residing outside Wisconsin and Minnesota — Minnesota students have reciprocity and Wisconsin students have no automatic award here. UW-Superior's own pages disagree on the amounts: the tuition-award page says $7,900 and $5,800 while its international page says $8,100 and $5,900 for the same tiers, and the figures followed here are the tuition-award page's. The published tiers also overlap at 2.9 and leave 3.3 to 3.4 uncovered, so the lower tier is extended upward. The page does not state that the amounts are annual.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Nonresident Tuition Waiver Scholar Award

$7,900 a year as a tuition waiver / year

About $31,600 over four years, if it renews.

UW-Superior awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UW-Superior merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Wisconsin-Superior’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Students residing outside Wisconsin and Minnesota

Admitted students are considered automatically, on a rolling basis after admission is offered. GPAs are on a 4.0 scale, and the award is a tuition waiver rather than cash.

  • $7,900 a year as a tuition waiver

    Nonresident Tuition Waiver Scholar Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.40

  • $5,800 a year as a tuition waiver

    Nonresident Tuition Waiver Award

    No score needed · GPA 2.90

Source: Tuition award and reciprocity programs · verified 2026-10-24

Does UW-Superior superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and the waiver reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UW-Superior’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

UW-Superior scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Fall applicationAugust 26 — preferred before May 1
Waiver awardingRolling, after admission is offered

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin-Superior’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The waiver covers only students residing outside Wisconsin and Minnesota.
  • Wisconsin residents have no automatic award here, and Minnesota students have reciprocity instead.
  • A 3.4 pays $7,900 a year and a 2.9 pays $5,800 — a tenth of a point at that boundary is worth $8,400 across four years.
  • A Pell-eligible student reaches the full $7,900 at a 2.9 and $5,800 at a 2.5, which are need-based routes rather than merit bands.
  • For a Pell-eligible student the effective merit threshold is half a grade point lower.
  • UW-Superior's own pages disagree on the amounts, giving $7,900 and $5,800 in one place and $8,100 and $5,900 in another.
  • The published tiers overlap at 2.9 and leave 3.3 to 3.4 uncovered.
  • The award is a tuition waiver rather than cash.
  • GPAs are stated to be on a 4.0 scale.
  • President's and Chancellor's scholarships appear only on third-party sites, not UW-Superior's own pages.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Wisconsin-Superior.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UW-Superior?

University of Wisconsin-Superior publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UW-Superior test-optional?

Neither admission nor this waiver requires a score. For merit aid the answer is different: the waiver tiers are GPA alone. A student with no ACT reaches the $7,900 tier at a 3.4 exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UW-Superior?

On UW-Superior's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Nonresident Tuition Waiver Scholar Award at $7,900 a year, about $31,600 over four years if it renews.

Does UW-Superior superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and the waiver reads no score.

When are UW-Superior scholarship deadlines?

Fall application: August 26 — preferred before May 1. Waiver awarding: Rolling, after admission is offered. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this UW-Superior scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin-Superior's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UW-Superior awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UW-Superior is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Wisconsin-Superior