Rocky Mountain College: merit scholarships by GPA
Rocky Mountain College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $17,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Rocky Mountain words the top figure as "up to $17,000/year", and its estimator adds a separate housing grant whose amount is never published — so the real offer depends on where a student lives and is not on the grid. Athletic scholarships, tuition remission and VA benefits replace these awards rather than stacking with them. The tier names that appear on third-party sites are not on Rocky Mountain's own page, so the bands here are unnamed beyond the award itself.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Academic Merit Award
Up to $15,000 a year / year
About $60,000 over four years, if it renews.
Rocky Mountain awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Rocky Mountain merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Rocky Mountain College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year academic merit awards
Read on the unweighted high school GPA. Automatic for accepted first-year students, and renewable for four years.
Up to $17,000 a year
Academic Merit Award
No score needed
Up to $15,000 a year
Academic Merit Award
No score needed
Up to $13,000 a year
Academic Merit Award
No score needed
Up to $9,000 a year
Academic Merit Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Merit Award | — | Up to $17,000 a year |
| Academic Merit Award | — | Up to $15,000 a year |
| Academic Merit Award | — | Up to $13,000 a year |
| Academic Merit Award | — | Up to $9,000 a year |
Source: First-year students · verified 2026-10-24
Does Rocky Mountain superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Rocky Mountain’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Rocky Mountain scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Montana and Wyoming Valedictorian Scholarship (competitive) | February 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Rocky Mountain College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- There is no GPA floor: 2.89 and below still pays $9,000 a year.
- The ladder spans $8,000 a year, so climbing rungs genuinely pays.
- The 3.82-to-3.83 step is worth $2,000 a year on an unweighted transcript.
- The GPA is unweighted, so honours and AP coursework buy nothing.
- No rung reads an ACT score.
- Athletic scholarships, tuition remission and VA benefits replace these awards rather than adding to them.
- Rocky Mountain's estimator adds a housing grant whose amount it never publishes.
- The top figure is worded as "up to".
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Rocky Mountain College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Rocky Mountain?
Rocky Mountain College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Rocky Mountain test-optional?
The typo is Rocky Mountain's. For merit aid the answer is different: neither the grid nor Rocky Mountain's own award estimator asks for a score. A student with no ACT reaches the top award at a 3.83 exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Rocky Mountain?
On Rocky Mountain's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Academic Merit Award at $15,000 a year, about $60,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Rocky Mountain superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
When are Rocky Mountain scholarship deadlines?
Montana and Wyoming Valedictorian Scholarship (competitive): February 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Rocky Mountain scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Rocky Mountain College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Rocky Mountain awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Rocky Mountain is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Rocky Mountain College