University of North Carolina at Charlotte: merit scholarships and what the school publishes
University of North Carolina at Charlotte publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
UNC Charlotte does not publish an automatic merit award.
There is no score or GPA that guarantees a figure here, so there is nothing to look up — and that is the answer rather than a gap in our data. UNC Charlotte states that merit scholarships are not awarded automatically and must be applied for through the NinerScholars portal after admission. It does not publish whether a test score is read inside those applications, so this is recorded as unknown rather than guessed either way.
“UNC Charlotte does not use an automatic merit scholarship process.”
UNC Charlotte, Undergraduate Admissions — Scholarships
Worth knowing where your score is guaranteed money. Hundreds of universities publish a grid that pays a fixed amount for a given score and GPA, and we have read all of them.
See where your score is worth the most →What UNC Charlotte publishes instead of a grid
University of North Carolina at Charlotte publishes no table of awards against scores or grades for Fall 2027 entry. What it publishes is the process, and the criteria sit inside each individual opportunity rather than in one place a family can read ahead of time. Everything known is below, quoted from the school.
Does UNC Charlotte superscore for scholarships?
UNC Charlotte does not state a superscore policy on either page read here. Because no merit award is granted automatically, there is no published threshold a superscored composite could clear — scores are read, if at all, inside the NinerScholars applications.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UNC Charlotte’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 504 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
UNC Charlotte scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Early Action application (decision by Jan. 30) | November 1, 2026 |
| Regular Decision application (decision by April 1) | February 1, 2027 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
What to do next
UNC Charlotte guarantees nothing. Plenty of schools do.
There is no score that guarantees a figure at UNC Charlotte. Hundreds of universities publish a grid that does exactly that, and we have read every one of them.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Where this came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of North Carolina at Charlotte’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Undergraduate Admissions — Scholarshipsverified 2026-10-27
- First-Year Application Requirements & Deadlinesverified 2026-10-27
- Scholarships are applied for in the NinerScholars Portal, which opens in late October.
- Admission comes first: “After you have been admitted, you must apply in the NinerScholars portal for scholarship eligibility.”
- These are admission deadlines rather than scholarship deadlines — UNC Charlotte publishes no separate scholarship date on the page above, and you must be admitted before you can apply for anything.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UNC Charlotte?
University of North Carolina at Charlotte publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is UNC Charlotte test-optional?
A score is required only below a 2.8 weighted GPA. At a 2.8 and above, UNC Charlotte is test-optional for admission. For merit aid the answer is different: uNC Charlotte states that merit scholarships are not awarded automatically and must be applied for through the NinerScholars portal after admission. It does not publish whether a test score is read inside those applications, so this is recorded as unknown rather than guessed either way. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does UNC Charlotte superscore the ACT for scholarships?
UNC Charlotte does not state a superscore policy on either page read here. Because no merit award is granted automatically, there is no published threshold a superscored composite could clear — scores are read, if at all, inside the NinerScholars applications.
When are UNC Charlotte scholarship deadlines?
Early Action application (decision by Jan. 30): November 1, 2026. Regular Decision application (decision by April 1): February 1, 2027. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this UNC Charlotte scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of North Carolina at Charlotte's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-27. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.