Air Force and Space Force · verified 2026-10-31
Air Force Academy requirements
The Air Force Academy publishes no minimum ACT score and counts only your highest score on each test, so you may sit the ACT as many times as you can before the deadline. The binding constraint is the nomination: many congressional offices close as early as 1 September.
ACT minimum
None published
GPA minimum
None published
Nomination
Required
Superscores
Yes
92 days to the next deadline
No minimum means no ceiling on how much the score helps. It is 55% of the file.
Every point comes from specific concepts, not general effort. Finding which ones takes about three minutes.
Raise my ACT score →Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.
Every published requirement
Read from the official source, with nothing inferred. A blank means the institution publishes no figure, not that there is no bar.
| Requirement | What is published |
|---|---|
| Test score | SAT or ACT required; the Academy ACT code is 0530. Both may be taken as many times as possible before the deadline, and only the highest scores count. |
| GPA | No published GPA minimum. To be academically competitive: four years of English, four years of college-prep maths through pre-calculus or higher, three years of social studies including US history, four years of lab science including chemistry, physics and biology, and two years of a modern foreign language. |
| Nomination | A congressional nomination is required. Most offices do not accept requests after October, and many have deadlines as early as 1 September — this closes months before the Academy's own deadline and is the step that catches people out. Military-affiliated nominations are due by 31 January. |
| ACT Science section | Not required. |
| Fitness | Candidate Fitness Assessment. |
| Medical | DoDMERB medical examination. |
| Eligibility | US citizen, at least 17 and not past your 23rd birthday on 1 July of the year you enter, unmarried with no dependents. |
Dates for this cycle
The next one is 92 days away. Dates that have passed are kept, because the pattern repeats each cycle and the spacing is the useful part.
| Milestone | Date | |
|---|---|---|
| Congressional nomination requests | Varies by office — many close 1 September, most by the end of October | |
| Military-affiliated nominations due | January 31, 2027 | 92 days |
Working backwards: ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window, so the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive before January 31, 2027 is December 12, 2026. Every sitting’s release window, and the registration deadlines.
Which ACT sittings still work for January 31, 2027
ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window rather than a release calendar, so the usable sitting is earlier than the deadline suggests. Judged against the four-week end, which is the one to plan against when the cost of being late is the application.
| Test date | Register by | Scores by | In time? |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 12, 2026 | November 6, 2026 | January 9, 2027 | Yes |
| February 27, 2027 | January 22, 2027 | March 27, 2027 | Too late |
| April 10, 2027 | March 5, 2027 | May 8, 2027 | Too late |
| June 12, 2027 | May 7, 2027 | July 10, 2027 | Too late |
| July 10, 2027 | June 4, 2027 | August 7, 2027 | Too late |
The last sitting that works is December 12, 2026, and registration for it closes November 6, 2026. Because Air Force Academy superscores, an extra sitting carries no downside — a weaker section is simply ignored.
Who takes your best sitting, and who does not
Two opposite retake strategies for the same applicant, and the comparison is published nowhere else. Superscoring means a later test can only help. A single-sitting rule means it has to clear the bar on its own.
| Programme | Superscores | ACT minimum | Nomination |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Yes | None published | Required |
| Naval Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Air Force Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Coast Guard Academy | Not stated | None published | No |
| Army ROTC | Not stated | 19 | No |
| Air Force ROTC | No | 28 | No |
| Navy ROTC | Not stated | None published | No |
3 of these 7 take your best sections across sittings; Air Force ROTC explicitly does not. If you are applying to both kinds — and most applicants are — plan for the stricter rule, because a single strong sitting satisfies everyone and a patchwork of best sections does not.
The programmes that publish an actual floor
Only two do. The academies publish a deadline, a nomination requirement and a process — not a number.
| Programme | ACT | Percentile | GPA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Army ROTC | 19 | 58th | 2.50 |
| Air Force ROTC | 28 | 91st | 3.30 |
The gap between them is the whole story: Army ROTC at a 19 is the 58th percentile and AFROTC at a 28 is the 91st. Same uniform, nine points apart. The full percentile chart puts any score in that range.
The nomination, and the deadline it hides
Every page about Air Force Academy tells you a nomination is required. The part that costs people the application is when it closes — and what that does to your last useful test date.
The arithmetic nobody does
Your real ACT deadline is the spring of junior year, not January of senior year.
Nomination packets typically ask for test scores and most close in September or October of senior year. Run that against ACT’s own one-to-four-week release window and no sitting in the 2026-2027 testing year produces a score in time for an October 1 packet. The last one that clears a 31 October packet is September 19, 2026, and that test has already happened.
Air Force Academy will take your score until January 31, 2027. Congress will not wait that long. Plan for the earlier date and the later one takes care of itself.
| Source | What it means |
|---|---|
| Both US Senators | For your state. Apply to both — they are separate applications with separate deadlines. |
| Your US Representative | For your congressional district. |
| The Vice President | Nationwide rather than by district. Five students may attend on a vice-presidential nomination at any one time. |
| The President | For children of career military personnel. |
| Service-connected | Active-duty, reserve, ROTC and JROTC units; children of deceased or disabled veterans, of prisoners of war or servicemen missing in action, and of Medal of Honor recipients. |
West Point’s own instruction is blunt about how many to chase: “You should apply to every source available.” They are separate applications with separate deadlines, and each position may nominate up to 15 applicants per vacancy at West Point — so a nomination from one source does not crowd out another.
| When | What happens |
|---|---|
| Spring of junior year | Research nomination requirements. Every congressional office runs its own process with its own deadline and its own forms. |
| Spring / summer before senior year | Congressional offices prefer to be contacted now. This is also the last point at which an ACT sitting can produce a score in time for an autumn packet. |
| September – October of senior year | Most nomination deadlines fall here. Packets typically want a transcript, test scores, a resume, an essay, letters of recommendation and an interview. |
| 31 January of senior year | The academy's own deadline — the last thing to close, not the first. |
The Candidate Fitness Assessment, by the numbers
Six events in one sitting, 15% of a West Point file, and the same battery at Annapolis and the Air Force Academy. These are the MAXIMUM standards — the performance worth the full 100 points on that event, not a pass mark.
| Event | Male max | Female max | What it measures |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basketball throw (kneeling) | 102 ft | 68 ft | Shoulder power, coordination and balance from a stationary position. Three trials within two minutes. |
| Cadence pull-ups | 18 | 7 | Muscular strength and endurance of the arm, shoulder and back. Women may do the flexed-arm hang instead. |
| Shuttle run | 7.8 sec | 8.6 sec | Speed, agility and the ability to change direction. |
| Modified sit-ups | 95 | 95 | Abdominal and hip-flexor endurance. The only event with the same standard for both. |
| Push-ups | 75 | 50 | Upper-body muscular endurance. |
| One-mile run | 5:20 | 6:00 | Cardio-respiratory endurance. Run last, by design. |
The rules people fail on, rather than the standards they fall short of:
- The six events run consecutively, as one battery, with specified start, finish and rest times. You cannot do them on different days.
- The officially reported score must come from a single test administration — a complete, in-sequence, six-event test from beginning to end.
- Your test administrator cannot be a relative or a coach.
- Each event converts to a scale score from 0 to 100 points; there is no single pass mark.
- Practice tests before the record test are encouraged, and the scoring model already assumes you will not run your personal best mile at the end of five other events.
Standards read verbatim from West Point’s Candidate Fitness Assessment Instructions. Widely circulated “average competitive” figures are deliberately not reproduced here: they are not in the instruction document and we could not source them to any academy. Training to an invented benchmark and stopping there is a worse outcome than not having one.
What Air Force Academy is worth, and what it costs you
Not in the abstract. Against the 504 published merit grids we hold, which is the only honest yardstick we have.
What is covered
No tuition, no room and board. Cadets receive a monthly stipend.
| Air Force Academy | Best merit award we hold | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Covered | $42,000/yr toward it |
| Room and board | Covered | Not covered |
| Medical | Covered | Not covered |
| Paid a salary | Yes | No |
| Four-year value | Not published as a figure | $168,000 |
The largest published annual merit award anywhere in our dataset is $42,000 a year at Simpson, and 30 of 504 colleges publish $30,000 or more anywhere in their grid. None of them covers room, board and medical as well, and none of them pays you. What your own score is worth at all 504.
The cost, which is not money
At least eight years after graduation as a commissioned officer in the Air Force or Space Force — five on active duty, the remainder as inactive reserve. That is the part a scholarship comparison leaves out, and it is the only part that cannot be bought back. A merit award asks you to keep a GPA; this asks for years of your life, and that is the actual trade.
What a score will not do for Air Force Academy
- Replace the nomination. A congressional nomination is required. Most offices do not accept requests after October, and many have deadlines as early as 1 September — this closes months before the Academy's own deadline and is the step that catches people out. Military-affiliated nominations are due by 31 January. A perfect score with no nomination is not an application, and the nomination timeline runs months ahead of the admissions one.
- Pass the fitness test or the medical. Candidate Fitness Assessment. DoDMERB medical examination.
- Stand in for a published requirement that does not exist. Air Force Academy publishes no minimum, so nobody can tell you the score you "need" — including us.
- Carry an out-of-date eligibility rule. Age, citizenship and dependency rules are strict and are checked: US citizen, at least 17 and not past your 23rd birthday on 1 July of the year you enter, unmarried with no dependents.
Questions about Air Force Academy
What ACT score do you need for Air Force Academy?
Air Force Academy publishes no minimum ACT score. SAT or ACT required; the Academy ACT code is 0530. Both may be taken as many times as possible before the deadline, and only the highest scores count. Any page quoting a required score for Air Force Academy has inferred it from an admitted-student range rather than read it from a published requirement.
Can you send a new ACT score after you apply to Air Force Academy?
Yes, and it is worth doing. Air Force Academy superscores — "The Academy only counts your highest scores on each test.", so a later sitting can only help: a better section replaces the old one and a worse one is ignored.
Does Air Force Academy require a congressional nomination?
Yes. A congressional nomination is required. Most offices do not accept requests after October, and many have deadlines as early as 1 September — this closes months before the Academy's own deadline and is the step that catches people out. Military-affiliated nominations are due by 31 January.
Does Air Force Academy need the ACT Science section?
No. Air Force Academy does not require it. Worth knowing because Air Force ROTC does, and Science is optional on the Enhanced ACT — so if you are applying to both, register for Science.
When is the Air Force Academy deadline?
The next published date is military-affiliated nominations due on January 31, 2027, 92 days away. Working backwards through ACT's one-to-four-week score release, the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive in time is December 12, 2026.
Sources
The other academies and ROTC scholarships
- West Point requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Naval Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Coast Guard Academy requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
- Army ROTC requirements — 19 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Air Force ROTC requirements — 28 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Navy ROTC requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
Every figure on this page was read from Air Force Academy’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and is linked below. Where the institution publishes no minimum score, this page says so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. Requirements and deadlines change between cycles and the official source is the authority. This is a reading of it, not advice, and ClutchACT is not affiliated with United States Air Force Academy or the US Department of Defense.