Air Force and Space Force · verified 2026-10-31
Air Force ROTC requirements
AFROTC is the strictest and the most specific: a 28 ACT, a 3.3 unweighted GPA, no superscoring, and you MUST sit the ACT Science section — which the Enhanced ACT makes optional. A student who takes the test the normal way in 2026 is ineligible and will not be told.
ACT minimum
28
GPA minimum
3.30
Nomination
Not required
Superscores
No
The bar is a 28
A 28 is the 91st percentile. Most people get there by retaking.
And with no superscoring here, one sitting has to clear the bar by itself — which makes knowing exactly which concepts are costing you points worth more, not less.
Raise my ACT score to a 28+ →Free to start, no card. Built for the Enhanced ACT format.
Read this before you register for the ACT
Air Force ROTC requires the ACT Science section. The Enhanced ACT makes it optional.
On the Enhanced ACT, Science is 40 questions in 40 minutes, it is optional, and it does not count toward your composite. Sit the test the ordinary way and you will have no Science score — and no way to compete for this scholarship. Neither ACT nor the Air Force will flag it, because from each side it looks like the other one’s business.
You have to opt in to Science at registration. If you have already tested without it, you need another sitting.
Every published requirement
Read from the official source, with nothing inferred. A blank means the institution publishes no figure, not that there is no bar.
| Requirement | What is published |
|---|---|
| Test score | A minimum SAT of 1310, a minimum ACT of 28, or a minimum CLT of 93. Multiple scores may be submitted, but only a single sitting is used. |
| GPA | A cumulative unweighted GPA of 3.3, measured at the end of your last full academic year. A weighted GPA must be converted by your school counsellor. |
| Nomination | No congressional nomination is required. |
| ACT Science section | Required. |
| Fitness | A fitness assessment and an interview with a detachment are part of the process. |
| Medical | Medical qualification through DoDMERB after selection. |
| Eligibility | At least 17 at scholarship activation and enlistment; US citizen. Scores must come directly from the testing authority. |
Dates for this cycle
The next one is 41 days away. Dates that have passed are kept, because the pattern repeats each cycle and the spacing is the useful part.
| Milestone | Date | |
|---|---|---|
| Board 1 — initial application | September 15, 2026 | passed |
| Board 1 — missing documents | September 25, 2026 | passed |
| Board 2 — initial application | December 11, 2026 | 41 days |
| Board 2 — missing documents | December 22, 2026 | 52 days |
| Board 1 offers must be accepted | March 1, 2027 | 121 days |
- Board 1 — initial application: Closed for the AY27-28 cycle
Working backwards: ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window, so the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive before December 11, 2026 is October 17, 2026. Every sitting’s release window, and the registration deadlines.
Which ACT sittings still work for December 11, 2026
ACT publishes a one-to-four-week score release window rather than a release calendar, so the usable sitting is earlier than the deadline suggests. Judged against the four-week end, which is the one to plan against when the cost of being late is the application.
| Test date | Register by | Scores by | In time? |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 12, 2026 | November 6, 2026 | January 9, 2027 | Too late |
| February 27, 2027 | January 22, 2027 | March 27, 2027 | Too late |
| April 10, 2027 | March 5, 2027 | May 8, 2027 | Too late |
| June 12, 2027 | May 7, 2027 | July 10, 2027 | Too late |
| July 10, 2027 | June 4, 2027 | August 7, 2027 | Too late |
The last sitting that works is October 17, 2026, and registration for it closes September 11, 2026. Because Air Force ROTC does not superscore, the aim is one strong sitting rather than several partial ones.
Who takes your best sitting, and who does not
Two opposite retake strategies for the same applicant, and the comparison is published nowhere else. Superscoring means a later test can only help. A single-sitting rule means it has to clear the bar on its own.
| Programme | Superscores | ACT minimum | Nomination |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Yes | None published | Required |
| Naval Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Air Force Academy | Yes | None published | Required |
| Coast Guard Academy | Not stated | None published | No |
| Army ROTC | Not stated | 19 | No |
| Air Force ROTC | No | 28 | No |
| Navy ROTC | Not stated | None published | No |
3 of these 7 take your best sections across sittings; Air Force ROTC explicitly does not. If you are applying to both kinds — and most applicants are — plan for the stricter rule, because a single strong sitting satisfies everyone and a patchwork of best sections does not.
The programmes that publish an actual floor
Only two do. The academies publish a deadline, a nomination requirement and a process — not a number.
| Programme | ACT | Percentile | GPA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Army ROTC | 19 | 58th | 2.50 |
| Air Force ROTC | 28 | 91st | 3.30 |
The gap between them is the whole story: Army ROTC at a 19 is the 58th percentile and AFROTC at a 28 is the 91st. Same uniform, nine points apart. The full percentile chart puts any score in that range.
What Air Force ROTC is worth, and what it costs you
Not in the abstract. Against the 504 published merit grids we hold, which is the only honest yardstick we have.
| Air Force ROTC | Best merit award we hold | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Covered by the scholarship | $42,000/yr toward it |
| Room and board | Not covered | Not covered |
| Medical | Not covered | Not covered |
| Paid a salary | A monthly stipend | No |
| Four-year value | Not published as a figure | $168,000 |
The largest published annual merit award anywhere in our dataset is $42,000 a year at Simpson, and 30 of 504 colleges publish $30,000 or more anywhere in their grid. None of them covers room, board and medical as well, and none of them pays you. What your own score is worth at all 504.
The cost, which is not money
Published service obligations apply and vary by career field; confirm with the detachment before signing. That is the part a scholarship comparison leaves out, and it is the only part that cannot be bought back. A merit award asks you to keep a GPA; this asks for years of your life, and that is the actual trade.
What a score will not do for Air Force ROTC
- Replace the rest of the file. No nomination is needed here, but fitness, medical qualification and the interview are each their own gate.
- Pass the fitness test or the medical. A fitness assessment and an interview with a detachment are part of the process. Medical qualification through DoDMERB after selection.
- Guarantee selection. A 28 is the published floor, not a competitive score — clearing a minimum means your application gets read, not that it wins.
- Carry an out-of-date eligibility rule. Age, citizenship and dependency rules are strict and are checked: At least 17 at scholarship activation and enlistment; US citizen. Scores must come directly from the testing authority.
Questions about Air Force ROTC
What ACT score do you need for Air Force ROTC?
28. A minimum SAT of 1310, a minimum ACT of 28, or a minimum CLT of 93. Multiple scores may be submitted, but only a single sitting is used. A 28 is the 91st percentile nationally.
Can you send a new ACT score after you apply to Air Force ROTC?
You can submit a later score, but it will not be combined with an earlier one. "The AFROTC HSSP only uses singularly achieved SAT/ACT/CLT test score; super scores are not accepted." One sitting has to clear the bar on its own, which makes a single strong test far more valuable here than steady improvement across three.
Does Air Force ROTC require a congressional nomination?
No. No congressional nomination is required.
Do you need the ACT Science section for Air Force ROTC?
Yes, and this is the trap. Air Force ROTC requires the Science section. On the Enhanced ACT, Science is optional and does not count toward the composite — so a student who sits the test the ordinary way in 2026 will not have a Science score and cannot compete. You must opt in to Science at registration.
When is the Air Force ROTC deadline?
The next published date is board 2 — initial application on December 11, 2026, 41 days away. Working backwards through ACT's one-to-four-week score release, the last sitting whose scores reliably arrive in time is October 17, 2026.
Sources
The other academies and ROTC scholarships
- West Point requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Naval Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Air Force Academy requirements — no published minimum, nomination required
- Coast Guard Academy requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
- Army ROTC requirements — 19 ACT minimum, no nomination
- Navy ROTC requirements — no published minimum, no nomination
Every figure on this page was read from Air Force ROTC’s own published pages on October 31, 2026 and is linked below. Where the institution publishes no minimum score, this page says so rather than quoting an admitted-student range as a requirement. Requirements and deadlines change between cycles and the official source is the authority. This is a reading of it, not advice, and ClutchACT is not affiliated with Air Force ROTC High School Scholarship Program or the US Department of Defense.